HomeSportYouth Olympic Games team named

Youth Olympic Games team named


Team Zimbabwe for the inaugural Youth Olympic Games was announced yesterday at a function that was held at the Zimbabwe Olympic Committee (ZOC) headquarters.
The games will be held in Singapore from August 12-26 and the team leaves the country on Monday next week. It arrives back in Zimbabwe on August 29.
The president of the Zimbabwe Olympic Committee (ZOC), Admire Masenda announced the 38-member Zimbabwe comprising of 27 athletes and 11 team officials.
Athletes who made the squad were drawn from five sporting disciplines, namely athletics, equestrian, football, cycling and triathlon while each discipline will have a coach and player-manager.
The corporate world was well represented at the event with Interfin, Dairibord, Zimplats, Premier Travel, Faithwear, World Wide Scholarships, PSMAS, and Murray and Roberts all making contributions in cash and kind towards kits, medical kits and consumables and travel costs. Masenda thanked the corporate world for coming on board to support the team regardless of the serious hardships the economy is facing.
“I’m grateful that our all-weather friends and partners did not desert us even though the economic environment is bitterly challenging and the corporate world is battling with recapitalisation and meeting operational costs amid serious liquidity handicaps,” said Masenda.
The Youth Olympic Games will bring together at least 3 600 athletes between the ages of 14 and 18 from all 205 national Olympic Committees.
The theme for the Games is “the promotion of friendship, excellence and respect among young people” and they will be unique in that they place emphasis on culture and education just as much as they do in the actual competition.
In her closing remarks, Team Zimbabwe chef de mission Sibusisiwe Chindove thanked the corporate world for supporting the Youth Olympics- bound team.
Full team
1. Athletics: coach/manager Tendayi Tagara, Tinashe Mutanga and Sithulisiwe Zhou.
2. Cycling: coach/manager Marcel Marshal, Tyron Mackie, Shaylene Brown, Jonathan Thackray, Nyasha Lungu.
3. Equestrian: coach/manager Penelope Crokart, Yara Hansen.
4. Triathlon: coach/manager Rory Mackie, Andrea Brown, Boyd Littleford.
5. Football: coach Dumaza Dube, manager Edzai Kasinauyo
Under-15 soccer squad
Goalkeepers: Bernard Donovan, Davison Chipfupi
Defenders: Edward Mwanza, Keith Murera, Stanford Chavingira, Albert Kusemwa, Prince Gambe, Fortune Sibanda, Tapiwa Chikaka
Midfielders: Mgcini Pritchard Sibanda, Ben Chikanda, Lucky Ndlela, Edward Mwanza, Devyin Kyle Hencil, Albert Matova
Strikers: Mncedisi Gumede, Ackim Mpofu, Liberty Ngorima
Team Management
Chef de mission – Sibusisiwe Chindove
Team doctor – Xolani Ndlovu
Team physiotherapist – Abigail Mnikwa
Young Ambassador- Primrose Mhunduru

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading