HomeLife & StyleMavhima to grace CBZ schools debate

Mavhima to grace CBZ schools debate


TEN top schools drawn from all the country’s provinces will battle for supremacy at the inaugural CBZ Schools Debate Championship set for this afternoon at Rainbow Towers Hotel in Bulawayo.


Primary and Secondary Education minister Paul Mavhima (pictured) will be the guest of honour at the event where he will hand over the $50 000 prize money and trophies to the provincial and national winners courtesy of CBZ Holdings.

The CBZ Schools Debate Championship is a national programme for primary schools hosted by the Institute of African Knowledge in partnership with National Association of Primary Heads.

National programme co-ordinator, Isheanesu Sibanda yesterday said the stage was set for the event primed to mould future leaders while also bringing vibrancy to the education sector.

“The big day is finally here and the stage is set for the inaugural CBZ Schools Debate Championship which offers the biggest prize monies of $50 000 where the provincial and national winners will share the money and also receive trophies from our chief sponsor, CBZ Holdings,” he said.

“All the 10 participating schools are raring to go. Our Minister of Primary and Secondary Education, Honourable Professor Paul Mavhima who will be the guest of honour will hand over the prize money at this battle of brains event.”

Sibanda said the debate was aimed at developing critical thinking, reading and research as well as active listening among the debaters, providing experiences that will raise cognitive and presentation skills to the primary pupils.

“Parents and school heads must encourage children’s participation in debate programmes to gain a deeper understanding of the global issues as our future leaders,” he said.

The participating schools are Mutasa Primary representing Harare province, Murehwa Central Primary School (Mashonaland East), Mashonaland West province will be represented by Lady Tait Primary, with Bindura Primary representing Mashonaland Central, Masvingo will have Victoria Junior, Matabeleland South have Welton Primary School, St Joseph Makoni (Rusape) will represent Manicaland, while Bulawayo will be represented by Mabhugudhwane Primary School with Midlands being represented by Lingfield Primary School and Emuhlangeni Primary School will stand in for Matabeleland North.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading