AMH is an independent media house free from political ties or outside influence. We have four newspapers: The Zimbabwe Independent, a business weekly published every Friday, The Standard, a weekly published every Sunday, and Southern and NewsDay, our daily newspapers. Each has an online edition.

Zanu PF dominates rural constituencies, as CCC makes inroads

2023 Elections
In Masvingo, Zanu PF secured victory in 17 out of the 19 contested seats in the province.

THE early results announced by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (Zec) highlight the continued dominance of the ruling Zanu PF party in rural areas, while the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) maintains its stronghold in urban centres.

The opposition made significant inroads in Matebeleland North, securing victories in Lupane East, Lupane West and Nkayi South, among other constituencies.

In Bulawayo, the opposition CCCC achieved a clean sweep of all the contested seats, according to early results released by Zec.

CCC deputy spokesperson Gift Siziba thanked the opposition supporters for voting overwhelmingly for Nelson Chamisa’s party.

“Fellow citizens, thank you for your tenacity, determination, and amazing resolve. Your determination to un-rig this election, in the face of FAZ [Forever Associates Zimbabwe], voter suppression, among other shenanigans, has sent an unequivocal message to the outgoing Harare regime,” he said.

In Harare, the opposition emerged victorious in 23 out of the 26 constituencies, with only five constituencies left to be decided.

Mashonaland Central witnessed a complete victory for Zanu PF, with the party winning all 18 parliamentary seats.

Prominent figures such as ministers Kazembe Kazembe (Home Affairs), Zhemu Soda (Energy), and businessman Kenneth Musanhi retained their constituencies.

In Masvingo, Zanu PF secured victory in 17 out of the 19 contested seats in the province.

In Chiredzi North, Zanu PF’s candidate Roy Bhila managed to retain the seat with an impressive 18 696 votes, surpassing CCC candidate Fungai Chamisa, who got 2 584.

Similarly, in Chiredzi South, Joel Sithole of Zanu PF secured victory with 11 552 votes, defeating Douglas Gumbo of the CCC party, who garnered 7,528 votes.

In Chiredzi East, Siyaki Mundungehama of Zanu PF secured a resounding victory with 14 265 votes, surpassing Godfrey Maluleke of CCC, who received 3 922 votes.

Chiredzi Central witnessed a reversal of fortunes, with Francis Moyo of Zanu PF receiving 7 832 votes, while Ropafadzo Makumire of CCC secured 12 342 votes.

In Mashonaland West, Zanu PF claimed victory in all Hurungwe constituencies, while the CCC secured victories in Chinhoyi, Norton, Zvimba and Magunje.

CCC’s Leslie Mhangwa also secured victory in the Chinhoyi seat. CCC candidate Maxwell Mavhunga won the Chitungwiza South seat after polling 10 145 votes.

In Gwanda-Tshitaudze constituency, Zanu PF’s Fisani Moyo emerged victorious with 8 671 votes, defeating CCC’s Jastone Mazhale, who received 5 889 votes.

Related Topics