Zanu PF factions pledge unity

Zanu-PF headquartes

ZANU PF’s losing candidate in the just-ended Dangamvura/Chikanga primary elections, Clyde Jani, has pledged  to drum up support for his rival Esau  Mupfumi who will represent the ruling party in by-elections set for March 26 this year.

Mupfumi defeated Jani in the primaries which were marred by factional fights.

On Sunday, Zanu PF politburo members launched the party’s by-election campaign in Mutasa South and Dangamvura/Chikanga constituencies where they urged warring parties to bury their differences and rally behind the winners.

Addressing the gathering, Jani said: “Zanu PF is not an individual’s party, we should all have the interests of the party at heart, and unity is very important for all of us.  Yes, we had primary elections and you voted for both of us, but now we have comrade Esau Mupfumi contesting the by-elections, let’s go out in our numbers and vote for him (Mupfumi),” he said.

Mupfumi also pledged to foster unity in the constituency.

“Just like our President Emmerson Mnangagwa who is always  saying we have no loser and winner in all of our elections, so we should be united always, divided we fall, united we stand,” he said.

The Dangamvura/Chikanga seat fell vacant after MDC Alliance MP Prosper Mutseyami was recalled from the National Assemby by the MDC-T party led by Douglas Mwonzora.

Mutseyami will contest under the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) party (formerly MDC Alliance), while musician-cum-politician Hosiah Chipanga will contest under the Patriotic Zimbabwe party.

In Mutasa South constituency, Zanu PF will be represented by Misheck Mugadza. The seat fell vacant following the recall of MDC Alliance’s Regai Tsunga.

Tsunga wants to retain the seat under the CCC banner.

  • Follow us on Twitter @NewsDayZimbabwe