HomeSportBulawayo to host motor racing

Bulawayo to host motor racing



BULAWAYO’s Motoring Club (BMC) will tomorrow host the first leg of the national series motor racing, with the staging of the John Love Trophy at the Bulawayo Motorsport Park, Highmount.

The competition, sponsored by Fuchs, will see a full entry of 25 cars and 11 motorbikes taking part, with some riders coming from neighbouring South Africa. This is BMC’s first motor racing event for the year.

The John Love Trophy is an annual event in tribute to the legendary Zimbabwean racer John Love who had an exciting racing career for many years becoming a six-time South African F1 champion in 1960 and achieved his first podium finish in 10 formula One world Grand Prix in 1962.

“We are expecting a full entry because this is the first round of the nationals in Bulawayo. Drivers want to maximise on points, so a better field is expected compared to last year,” BMC vice-chairperson Julian Van Vuuren said.

“We are grateful to have more competitors coming in and also to the sponsor. Looking at the costs of putting up the event compared to last year, without sponsors, we would not hold the event.”

BMC race secretary Frances Norman said the race will see two bikers from South Africa’s Monroe Racing team also taking part.

“Daphe Lancy will be on her 250 CC motorbike together with Cameron Aitken who will be on his 600 CC. We have a newcomer from Bulawayo — Able Moyo who will be on his 250CC. Six bikers will come from Harare and three from Bulawayo.

“We have the unlimited class which will see Richard Robinson in the mighty Supra, father and son Jim and Hamish Perry in their powerful BMW,” Norman said.

Among the drivers will be Calvin Rademeyer and Darren Pragji (VW Golf’s), Byron Norman (Mitsibushi Evo), Bob Beaver and Denzel Bhana (mini coopers), Shaun Kerwin and Dino Khamal in (Datsun).

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading