West Indies unchanged for Zimbabwe Tests


Kingstown — West Indies have named an unchanged squad for the upcoming cricket Test series in Zimbabwe, starting on October 21.

The same 16-man squad that did duty in the recent Test series in England have been given a vote of confidence even though the Windies lost the three-match series 2-1.

West Indies’ chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne said: “The selection panel is pleased to announce the same Test squad that toured England to visit Zimbabwe.

“The dedication, commitment and focus in their preparation and during the series in England showed immense character for such a young team in very difficult conditions against World-class competition.

“The lessons learnt on that tour augur well for the individual players and the team’s continued development as a whole and we wish them well on the Tour of Zimbabwe.”

The Caribbean side will begin their tour with a three-day practice match against Zimbabwe A, scheduled to be played at the Bulawayo Athletic Club from October 15.

This will be followed by the two Test matches, which will take place at Queen’s Sports Club in Bulawayo, with the second game set to start on November 2.

West Indies Test squad: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach
— Online