Dube, Mubaiwa square off


Barely a month into the new season, Highlanders and Dynamos renew their age-old rivalry, well almost, as the clubs’ respective bosses square off for the Castle Lager Premier Soccer League (PSL) top post.


After leading the PSL for less than a month in an acting capacity, after taking over from the deposed Twine Phiri, Highlanders chairperson Peter Dube filed his nomination papers with the PSL yesterday to contest for the post and will face off against his Dynamos counterpart Kenni Mubaiwa for the right to lead the top-flight league.

Mubaiwa filed his nomination papers yesterday.

“I can confirm I have filed my nomination papers. I think it is my time to lead the PSL. Let’s see what happens from now,” the Dynamos boss said yesterday.
Dube said: “I have been nominated. I submitted my nomination papers and I am waiting for the verification process. I cannot comment much until the verification exercise is complete.”


The elections are set for February 13.

Zifa ordered fresh elections for the PSL, on the basis that incumbent chairperson Phiri had his mandate revoked by the councillors last October together with other members of Cuthbert Dube-led board.

That meant Phiri would have to seek a fresh mandate to lead the PSL, but he is no longer eligible according to the PSL constitution, as he lost the club presidency to Harare businessman Farai Jere, who is now the majority shareholder with a 60% stake.

Phiri was left with a 20% stake, while fellow board member Nhamo Tutisani also has a 20% stake.

Only club presidents or chairpersons can contest for the PSL chairmanship according to the PSL constitution, meaning only Jere and Lewis Uriri can contest for the position from Caps.

“We are not interested in the PSL. We have Caps United to take care of. Twine Phiri represented the club for close to two terms and that is it,” Jere said.
Article 38.1 of the PSL constitution says: “The chairman shall be elected by the congress for a period of four years. His mandate begins after the end of the congress that has elected him. The chairman shall only be re-elected once.”

This means Phiri, whose mandate was revoked in October last year, is not eligible to seek further re-election.

In that election, Phiri beat Mubaiwa by 13 votes to two to win a second term in office.


Comments are closed.