HomeSportSoccerKutyauripo wins City’s Player of the Year

Kutyauripo wins City’s Player of the Year


VETERAN defender David Kutyauripo was the biggest winner at Harare City’s awards night held in the capital yesterday when he scooped the club’s Player of the Year Award.


The 35-year-old enjoyed a standout campaign for the Sunshine Boys, helping the team to escape relegation.

Kutyauripo, who was also voted as one of the league’s 11 best players last month, received a cool $5 000, just a $1 000 less of what ZPC Kariba’s Dennis Dauda received for winning the league’s best player.

For making it as one of the best players in the league, the former Dynamos man received $1 000.

At yesterday’s ceremony, the City captain was all joy as he received the award to cap a memorable second season with the club.

Earlier in the evening, striker Martin Vengesai, who won the Most Disciplined Award, last year, was this time voted the Players’ Player of the Year, chosen by his fellow teammates. He had an outstanding season with the club, also in his second season after joining from Dynamos.

The former Mashoko High School student, who missed the club’s last matches of the season due to injury, went home $4 000 richer.
Midfield enforcer James Jam picked up the Most Consistent Award which had a $3 000 reward.

Striker Osborne Mukuradare, who was the top goal scorer last season, repeated the same feat this year after netting eight league goals including the winner on the final day of the season that rescued his side from relegation. The former Monomotapa man was rewarded with a $2 500 cheque.

South African bound Francesco Zekumbawire was voted the Most Disciplined player on his debut season, but he was not around to receive his award and an accompanying $2 000 cheque as he is currently on trials with South African Premiership side Bidvest Wits University.

Wingback Munyaradzi Diro Nyenye has been at Harare City for three years and his services were recognised last night after he was given the Most Loyal award while Raymond Uchena received the Most Improved Player of the Year.

There were also celebrations for young Takudzwa Chimwemwe on the night after he was voted the club’s Rookie of the Year.

The attacking linkman joined Harare City at the start of the season from Division One side Twalumba.

Harare City awards winners
Player of the Year
2014 – David Kutyauripo ($5 000)
2013 – Silas Songani
2012 – Witness Nyamutsaka
Players Player of the Year
2014 – Martin Vengesai ($4 000)
2013 – Nathan Ziwini
2012 – Edgar Tapera
Most Consistent Player
2014 – James Jam ($3 000)
2013 – Crispen Dickson
Top Goal scorer
2014 – Osborne Mukuradare ($2 500)
2013 – Osborne Mukuradare
2012 – Godfrey Nguwodzawo
Most Disciplined Player
2014 – Francesco Zekumbawire ($2 000)
2013 – Martin Vengesai
2012 – Trymore Nyamadzawo
Most Improved Player
2014 = Raymond Uchena ($1 500)
2012 – Nomore John
Most Loyal Player
2014 – Munyaradzi Diro-Nyenye ($1 500)
2013 – Godfrey Nguwodzawo
2012 – Raymond Uchena
Rookie of the Year
2014 – Takudzwa Chimwemwe ($1 500)
2013 – Tongai Chiworeso
2012 – Munyaradzi Diro-Nyenye

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading