HomeNewsAir Zimbabwe passengers to pay departure fees to CAAZ

Air Zimbabwe passengers to pay departure fees to CAAZ


ALL passengers flying on Air Zimbabwe to local and international destinations are now required to pay a departure fee directly to Civil Aviation Authority of Zimbabwe (CAAZ) offices at the airports, the airline said.


The fees to be paid in cash are pegged at $15 for domestic departures and $50 for international departures.

The new development comes amid reports the airline was failing to remit departure taxes to CAAZ.

“Passengers travelling on Air Zimbabwe flights are required to pay their flight taxes in cash at the receipting offices at the airport of their departure,” the airline posted a notice on their website.

The notice added: “Payments may be made in US$, South African rand, euro, Botswana pula or British pounds in cash.”

The airline currently operates three domestic routes and one regional route to Johannesburg, South Africa.

The domestic routes are Harare – Bulawayo, Harare – Victoria Falls and the Harare – Kariba – Victoria Falls.

The airline is yet to resume its international routes to London and Beijing as it is still settling its debts and seeking funds for recapitalisation.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Zambia have introduced a 30-day univisa that allows tourists to travel freely between the three countries for up to a calendar month.

The $50 univisa regime was introduced to complement the regional Kavango/Zambezi Transfrontier Park (Kaza).

Kaza Transfrontier Park joins Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana, creating one of the biggest national parks in the region with the big five animals.

Kaza said: “Zimbabwe and Zambia have now launched their new Kaza (Kavango/Zambezi) tourist univisa allowing entry to both countries for a single payment of $50.”

It added: “Citizens of 40 countries are eligible for the visa which is intended to save time and money and make regional travel much easier.”

The univisa is a pilot project that will run for six months and thereafter extended to include other three Kaza countries — Angola, Botswana and Namibia.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading