HomeNewsMinistry to rehabilitate major roads

Ministry to rehabilitate major roads


THE Ministry of Transport and Infrastructural Development will be rehabilitating 11 roads that link the country to other corridors this year, a Cabinet official has said.


The state of most major roads in Zimbabwe is appalling
The state of most major roads in Zimbabwe is appalling

These roads include Harare-Bindura, Harare-Chirundu, Harare-Nyamapanda, Bulawayo-Beitbridge and others.

“In the next few months we will be identifying the developers of these roads and give them clear specifications on how these roads will be developed,” Transport minister Obert Mpofu said.

Mpofu said he was happy that he succeeded in increasing the toll fees as roads could be developed without involving road users.

“We cannot ask for money from Treasury, motorists must contribute to the roads,” he said.

Mpofu increased toll fees by 100% recently saying the toll fees that were being collected were insufficient to help in rehabilitating the road network. Mpofu said a total of $40 million was being collected through toll fees every year, an amount that cannot build a 20km road network.

Mpofu said the ministry was currently constructing the Harare Airport Road with the help of the Zimbabwe National Road Administration (Zinara).

Meanwhile Mpofu appointed a new Air Zimbabwe board chaired by Abdulman Eric Harid who will hold the position in an acting capacity. Harid is the general manager finance and support services at Air Zimbabwe.

Other members of the board include Altfin group chief executive officer Gift Noko, Rudo Faranisi, Luckson Muzondo, Patience Zenda, Edwin Zvandasara, Austin Simbai Mpinyuri and Tadiwanashe Mukudzeyi Mangwengwende.

Mpofu said the board should craft the turnaround strategy for Air Zimbabwe and also resolve the debt issue at the national airline. The airline had been operating without a board after Mpofu dissolved the Ozias Bvute-led board in February.

Mpofu also appointed a new Zinara board led by architect Albert Mugabe in an acting capacity.

The other board members are Zimbabwe National Chamber of Commerce vice-president Davison Norupiri, Alex Kautsiro, Jeffrey Nkomo, Norman Muzvidzwa, Sifiso Mpofu, Martha Ndoro, Peter Hlohla, Natsai Jaiwa and Khuluwani Mathema.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading