HomeLocal NewsMDC-T primary polls brew shockers

MDC-T primary polls brew shockers


MDC-T heavyweights continue to sing the blues with more sitting MPs failing to secure a two-thirds majority to secure an automatic ticket to represent the party in the forthcoming harmonised elections.


Several incumbent MPs in Chitungwiza and Bulawayo failed to secure endorsement in the second day of voting yesterday with more expected to tumble as the primary elections cascade to other provinces countrywide.

Under party rules, sitting legislators have to go through a confirmation exercise by their respective constituencies. Only those who fail to garner two-thirds support from their constituencies have to go for primary elections.

MDC-T national organising secretary Nelson Chamisa confirmed that several sitting MPs had failed the internal test, paving the way for their seats to be contested in party primaries in the next fortnight.

“I am happy with the way the elections are being conducted – they are very free and fair — and I hope the situation will continue like this until the process is over. MDC is a party of excellence,” Chamisa said.

The latest casualties were Zengeza West MP Collen Gwiyo, Misheck Shoko (Chitungwiza South), Marvellous Khumalo, (St Mary’s), Greenbate Dongo (Goromonzi South), Edward Musumbu (Norton), Felix Magalela Sibanda (Magwegwe), Fidelis Mhashu (Chitungwiza North) and Samuel Khumalo (Pelandaba-Mpopoma).

First to be denied automatic confirmation on the first day of voting on Saturday were Science Technology minister Heneri Dzinotyiwei (Budiriro), Elias Jembere (Epworth), Pearson
Mungofa (Highfield East), Willias Madzimure (Kambuzuma), Margaret Matienga (Sunningdale), Gift Dzirutwe (Glen Norah) and Simon Ruuke Hove (Highfield West).

However, the likes of Alexio Musundire (Zengeza East) and Albert Mhlanga (Pumula) secured the greenlight to stand for re-election joining Fani Munengami (Glen View North), Paul Madzore (Glen View South), Jessie Majome (Harare West), Lucia Matibenga (Kuwadzana), Paurina Mpariwa (Mufakose) and Gift Chimanikire (Southerton).

MDC-T youth leader Solomon Madzore will also seek his first parliamentary seat after beating district chair Alec Masomera in Dzivarasekwa, while lawyer Jacob Mafume (Harare South), former broadcasters Eric Knight (Mbare) and James Maridadi (Mabvuku/Tafara) also secured tickets to represent the party.

Those who were unchallenged include Chamisa (Kuwadzana East), secretary-general Tendai Biti (Harare East), woman affairs boss Theresa Makone (Harare North), Tapiwa Mashakada (Hatfield), party spokesperson Douglas Mwonzora (Nyanga North), foreign affairs secretary Jameson Timba (Mount Pleasant), Bulawayo provincial chairman Gorden Moyo (Makokoba) and Thamsanqa Mahlangu (Nkulumane).

In Seke Rural constituency, businessman Thomas Nyamayaro won emphatically against three other contestants in the primary elections.

Samuel Sipepa Nkomo ( Lobengula) and Albert Mhlanga ( Pumula) were confirmed yesterday while Eddie Cross (Bulawayo South) and Tabitha Khumalo (Bulawayo East) also went through unchallenged.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading