HomeNewsNew board for National Gallery

New board for National Gallery


THE National Gallery of Zimbabwe (NGZ) recently appointed a new Board of Trustees with Dr Solomon Guramatunhu taking over as chairperson from Rita Likukuma.

Report by Tinashe Sibanda

Other board members are Harare mayor Muchadeyi Masunda, Sibusisiwe Bango, Hlezipi Naomie Nyanungo, Busani Bafana, David Scott, Patricia Broderick Wood, Rosetta Peters and Mordecai Mahlangu.

The gallery consists of three branches in Harare, Bulawayo and Mutare, with each branch adequately represented in the board.

NGZ information and public relations officer Taremeredzwa Chirewa said the board would help steer the gallery to another level after a successful run last year.

“Last year’s highlight was the steady return of the high status of Zimbabwean art largely due to its successful participation in various platforms both at home and abroad,” said Chirewa.

“Our vision is to explore and express the essence of Zimbabwean identity through visual arts with its mission to promote talent, creativity and visual heritage through local and international platforms.”

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading