Sadomba for Caf award


WARRIORS’ striker Edward Sadomba’s stature in African football continues to rise after he was yesterday nominated among the 32 players vying for the prestigious African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award.

Report by Henry Mhara

This is the second time in as many years the former Dynamos player has been nominated for the accolade.

In 2011, the speedy striker made it into the top 10, only to be beaten to the top prize by Tunisian midfielder Oussama Darragi.
The nomination caps a wonderful two day for the 29-year old player who was on Thursday exonerated from the Asiagate match fixing scandal.

Sadomba was immediately recalled to the Warriors squad for the Africa Cup of Nations final qualifier away in Angola next week and is expected in camp on Monday.

CAF will announce the top five finalists later this month after the voting by the media, technical and football committees.

The names of the top five will be sent to National Association head coaches and secretary generals to select the top three.

The three finalists will be revealed at the GLO-CAF Awards Gala which to be held in Ghana on December 20.

Caf says the selection was based on performances for club and country.

Sadomba, who has rather struggled in Warriors colours in recent years, is a household name at his Omdurman based side Al Hilal.

A regular feature on the score cards for his team, the striker has been an integral part of Hilal’s campaign in the Caf Confederations Cup campaign, scoring three goals so far.

Sadomba has also been consistent for his club in the domestic scene where Al Hilal are currently perched at the summit of the log standings with 58 points, five clear of fierce rivals Al Merreikh.
The diminutive player has however failed to replicate his terrific club form to the Warriors but analysts say its mainly because he has been played off position.

Sadomba, who thrives on speed, made his name at Dynamos playing wide as a winger, a position he also plays for Al Hilal, but Warriors coaches have tried, albeit in failure, to transform him into outright striker.

The 34 nominees
E Sadomba (Al Hilal), A Djabou (Club Africain), A El-Basha (Al Merreikh), A Zuway (CA Bizertin), A Fiston (Lydia Academic), A Bagayoko (Djoliba), A Girma (St Georges), A Bobo Izu (Sunshine Stars), B Bangoura (Djoliba), E Hadary (Al Merreikh), E Clottey (Esperance), G Singuluma (TP Mazembe), H Bashir (Al Ahly Shandy), H Afful (Esperance), I Diarra Cercle (Olympique de Bamako), J Barros (Interclub), M Aboutreika (Al-Ahly), M Bobe (BIack Leopards, M ElTaieb (Al Hilal), M Mthethwa (Royal Leopard), O Godfrey (Sunshine Stars), O Bakheet (Al Hilal), R Kalaba (TP Mazembe), R Yakubu (Al Ahly Shandy), S Mbwana (TP Mazembe), S Asante (Berekum Chelsea), S Sunzu (TP Mazembe), T Nyemba (AC Leopard Dolisie), T Mputu (TP Mazembe), W Hicheri (Esperance), Y N’Djeng (Esperance), Y Msakni (Esperance)