HomeSportSoccerBradley names ‘killer’ squad for Guinea

Bradley names ‘killer’ squad for Guinea


CONAKRY — American coach Bob Bradley has named a 22-member Egyptian squad that will travel to Guinea for their second 2014 World Cup qualifier.

Egypt is already in Morocco, but were scheduled to fly on to Guinea later in the evening yesterday. The former African champions are in high morale after their 2–0 victory against Mozambique in their first clash in Alexandria last week and despite a week that saw some fights in camp.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has disclosed that the departure of the Super Eagles for Blantyre, Malawi, was delayed by 12 hours due to “strict safety rules” in line with flying.

The Nigerian contingent was earlier billed to leave the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja, aboard a chartered Air Jordan aircraft on Thursday night ahead of a 2014 Fifa World Cup qualifier against Malawi today.

The airline had to jettison the Thursday departure plan as options of refuelling during a stop-over in one of the Central African nations became limited.

“The Nigeria delegation to Saturday’s 2014 Fifa World Cup qualifying match against Malawi in Blantyre would now depart the country on the morning of Friday (yesterday), as officials of the chartered Air Jordan aircraft opted for strict safety rules in line with global best practices,” a statement from the football federation read.

“The delegation was to depart from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja on Thursday evening, but once the 6pm departure time was no longer possible, the airline was told that it would not be able to land at the Kinshasa International Airport to refuel as that airport closes at 10pm.
“Another option was the Brazzaville International Airport, close to Kinshasa, but the Brazzaville Airport informed the pilot of the Air Jordan aircraft that the airport also closes at 10pm. That left only the option of Luanda International Airport, Angola.”

Egypt squad
Goalkeepers: Essam Al Hadry, Ahmed Al Shenawy, Sherif Ekramy,

Defenders: Ahmed Hegazy, Mahmoud Fathallah, Ahmed Said “Oka”, Basem Ali, Ahmed Al Mohammady , Mohammed Abd Al Shafi , Sayed Moawad , Ibrahim Salah , Hossam Ghaly, Midfielders Mohammed Al Nney, Ashour Al Taqi , Ahmed Fathy, Hosny Abd Rabo, Mohammed Abo Trika

Attackers: Ahmed Hassan Meky,
Mohammed Nagy “Gedo”, Ahmed Temsah, Mohammed Salah, Mohammed Zidan. — Supersport

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading