HomeSportRugbyGoshawks team announced

Goshawks team announced


Zimbabwe senior rugby team manager Losson Mtongwiza yesterday released a 30-member provisional squad ahead of the high-profile friendly match against South African Currie Cup side Valke.

The side, which is dominated by locally-based players, will play under the monicker Goshawks in a match which will be played under floodlights at Harare Sports Club on June 14.

The squad also has several young players such as the Sharks Academy duo of flanker Simba Mandiona, flyhalf Lenience Tambwera and speedster Kuda Chiwanza.

South Africa-based lock Tinashe Bopoto, who featured for KwaZulu-Natal in the Varsity Shield early this year, is also part of the squad in a sign that the technical team is casting its net wider.

Bopoto will give the coaches more option in the second row which already has Jan Ferreira and Fortune Chipendu.

The technical department has also gone for experience with the backbone of the squad made up of the players who made up the Sables team which completed last season unbeaten.
Steely tight-head prop Denford Mutamangira, who recently completed an impressive debut season with Ayr in Scotland, is also part of the team as he is currently on his off-season break.

Star Hartpury College scrumhalf Charles Jiji, who was impressive for the Sables last year, will also have another dance with senior team after also being included in the side.

The backline which starred last year comprised of skipper Danny Hondo, Cleopas Makotose, flyhalf Tichafara Makwanya and Danny Robertson has been retained.

Mtongwiza told NewsDay Sport that the team would go into camp in the capital on Tuesday next week, a day before the visitors are expected to arrive in the capital.

Goshawks Squad
Forwards: Norman Mukondiwa, Denford Mutamangira, Jonathan Goosen, Devon Esbach, Pieter Joubert, Jan Ferreira, Costa Dinha, Fortune Chipendu, Simba Mandiona, Takunda Chifokoyo, Jacques Leitao, Ruramai Kudenga, Kuda Kambasha, Samson Makuku
Backs: Costa Makotose, Danny Hondo, Tangai Nemadire, Shingi Mpofu, Danny Robertson, Tichafara Makwanya, Lloyd Machanjaire, Lenience Tambwera, Kuda Chiwanza, Paul Staak, Cleopas Makotose, Wes Mbanje, Charles Jiji, Scotty Johns, Gavin Nyawata, Tinashe Bopoto
Coach Brendan Dawson
Assistant coach: Cyprian Mandenge
Team Manager: Losson Mtongwiza

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading