Basketball top schools qualifiers on


Secondary schools from around Bulawayo clash in the National Association of Secondary Heads (Nash) Under-20 Top Schools Basketball Tournament at Bulawayo Club for the Disabled (BCD) today.

The competition will be used to select the school that will represent the province at the National Top Schools Under-20 Boys Tournament to be held later this year.

A total of 11 schools are expected to take part in the competition that ends tomorrow. The schools have been placed into three groups.

Group A consists of Gifford, Sizane, Ihlathi and St Columbus while Group B has Nkulumane, Northlea and Entumbane. Christian Brothers College (CBC), Milton, Founders and Induna make up Group C.

Defending champions Gifford, seeking to retain the trophy in the competition, are this year without Jordan Davids who was outstanding in last year’s competition, but is no longer a student at the school.

Nkulumane will bank on the experience of Portion Mafuta, Noah Penduka and Freedom Ncube who turn out for Southern Region basketball outfit Stars. Last year Nkulumane were runners-up in the competition.

Founders are also favourites to win the tournament as they have the experienced Shadel Noble who plays for Oilers. Sylvester Mtandwa of Kings is also part of the Founders High team.

CBC are coached by Bulawayo Metropolitan Province Youth Games coach Crayton Moyo. The finals and third and fourth playoffs will be played at the same venue tomorrow