HomeSportSoccerFootballer of the Year selection on

Footballer of the Year selection on


Champions Dynamos are favourites to provide the bulk of the players when sports writers meet on Saturday to select the best 11 players from the 2011 Castle Lager Premier Soccer League (PSL).

The Footballer of the Year, who will pocket $5 000 and his two runners-up will then be revealed at a separate function.

The selectors will also come up with the Referee of the Year, although this award has always attracted controversy.

This year, the match officiating has been seriously pathetic leading to Zifa bringing in foreign match officials for the two Mbada Diamonds Cup semi-finals. The final on Sunday, pitting Dynamos and Motor Action will also be handled by foreign officials.

Worse, there was a case of attempted match-fixing in the Central Region which led to a fine being imposed on Hardbody director Takesure Sibanda last Friday.

On the players’ list, Dynamos goalkeeper Washington Arubi and his counterpart at FC Platinum Tafadzwa Dube have been, without doubt, the most consistent number ones in the league this season.

Both are also in contention for the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Dynamos striker Rodreck Mutuma — who has already scooped $3 000 for being the top goalscorer after netting 14 times and is also a contender for the Rookie of the Year and defender George Magariro — are expected to feature in the calendar of stars.

While these players seem rather obvious candidates, dark horses in the PSL Hwange, former champions Motor Action, Gunners, Highlanders, Chicken Inn and Caps United are likely to have a player in the final 11.

Michael Madyira, Fortune Mbele, Sukoluhle Mthethwa, Daniel Nhakaniso (NewsDay), Albert Marufu (The Standard), Makomborero Mutimukulu, Roy Matiki (Sunday Mail), Ngqwele Dube, Mehluli Sibanda (Sunday News), Ray Bande (Manica Post), Mugove Chigada (H-Metro), Petros Kausiyo, Augustine Hwata, Eddie Chikamhi (The Herald), Tobias Mandoreba (freelance, Hwange), Paul Mundandi (freelance Zvishavane), Noel Muzambwa (Midlands), Nigel Matongorere (Dakarai Mashava (Daily News), Ricky Zililo, Thandiwe Moyo, Sikhumbuzo Moyo (Chronicle), Fungai Muderere (B-Metro)

Joey Antipas, Tennant Chilumba, Misheck Chidzambwa, Lloyd Chitembwe, Moses Chunga, Rahman Gumbo, Ralph Kawondera, Taurai Mangwiro, Tonderai Marume, Luke Masomere, Mkhuphali Masuku, Brenna Msiska, John Ncube, Adam Ndlovu, Calisto Pasuwa, Admore Sibanda

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading