HomeSportGolfTeeing- Off

Teeing- Off


Golf Results October 17-23 2011
FSG Lowveld Pro-am — The major tournament of the week was the FSG Lowveld Pro-am played over two courses Triangle and Hippo Valley.

It was co-sanctioned by Zimbabwe Golfers’ Asociation (ZGA) and ZPGA Zambezi Tour. This tournament has become the biggest pro am event in the country.

Professionals and amateurs from all over the country look forward to it. The tournament also counts on the ZGA order of merit points for amateurs who play the 72-hole event. The maximum handicap for amateurs was 12.

On the professional side, the prize purse was very attractive indeed. There was also the FSG Lowveld Swingers which was played at Mkwasine Golf course and was open to male and female amateur golfers of handicaps 13-24, and maximum handicap of 36 for women respectively.

This year’s Lowveld Am was very special in the history of golf in Zimbabwe. This was the first tournament to be played after the formation of the Zimbabwe Senior Professional Golfers Association.

The senior professionals are very grateful to the sponsors for being the first to sponsor this long-awaited association.

Thus for the first time, there were two groups of professionals, non-senior professionals who numbered 39 (those who are under 50 years of age and they played 72 holes, 18 holes per day, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday, October2 0 to 23), and senior professionals who numbered eight (those who are 50 years and above and they played 36 holes, 18 holes per day, Saturday and Sunday, October 22 to 23).

For the non-senior professionals, at the end of the 72 holes, Ignatius Mketekete and Robinson Saurombe were tied on 280 (8 under par). Ignatius Mketekete won after a thrilling play-off.

For the senior professionals, at the end of the 36 holes, the winner was R Kasawaya on 160 and the runner- up L Muridzo Chitengwa / E Chitakatira who were tied on 166. The champion of the 2011 Lowveld Amateur Championship is Ben Follet-Smith. Detailed results of the tournament will follow next week.

Country Club — The winners of the medal game played on Saturday were 1 D Dos Santos -72 net, 2 G Dartnall -74, 3 S Chiriga -74. The four-ball betterball Stableford Wednesday Club winners were 1 R Forbes/I Gillett -51 points, 2 J Jewel/R Forbes -47.

Royal Harare Golf Club — The divisional winners of the Saturday monthly medal competition were, C Division winner was Z Hinze 71 net and runner-up O Orange 71, B Division winner was R Nyamuziwa 71 net and runner-up C Hokonya 72, A Division winner was W Ali 69 net and runner- up Y. Bhagat 71. The best gross score was 80 from W Ali.

Chapman Golf Club — The winners of the Saturaday four-ball betterball Stableford competition were, 1 P F Robinson / S Framtton – 48 points, 2 P Nyamutsaka / M Makombe -47.

Last Wednesday’s four-ball betterball Stableford was sponsored by Clover Leaf Motors and the winners were 1 F Mataranyika/M Kanyimo -50 points, 2 D Mafiko / G Kaguru – 49, M Dodo / S Kasirori -47.

Falcon Golf Club — On Saturday the medal game competition was played at two venues. Nine chip and put holes were played at Hatfield Sports Club and 18 holes nearby Falcon Golf Club.

Winners were, 1 W Rose -98 net, 2 D Chiropa – 99,5, 3 N Milazi 100,5, 4 L Chigumba 101,5, 5 S Chiminya 101, 5, 6 W Fungura 102, 7 T Makarudze 102,5, 8 I Chitepo 102,5, 9 T Ngomo 103, 10 J W Machiwenyika 104.

Sunday individual Stableford winners were, 1 D Chiropa 40 points, 2 N Milazi 37, 3 M Janyure 35.

For any feedback/ comments contact, Tavenganiswa Mabikacheche at The Centre for Training and Research

Services on email: or mobile no. +263712200922 /+263772319612

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading