HomeLocal NewsCrash victims named

Crash victims named


Police have released nine names of the 20 people who died in a horrific crash on Thursday morning at the 59km peg along the Harare – Bulawayo road.

Police spokesperson Chief Superintendent Oliver Mandipaka said one of the victims was a police officer, Constable Michael Jofeni.

The rest are: Chawasarira bus driver Nicholas Ruvando, Lydia Muvhava, Ernest Kuchekanya, Memory Viriri, Paradzayi Keche, Theresa Pimire, Loyce Gwinha, and Denson Devison who died upon admission at Parirenyatwa Hospital.

Mandipaka said they were still in the process of identifying the remaining bodies.

“We also have a female juvenile admitted at Harare Hospital who is in a critical condition and a female adult who is also in a critical condition,” said Mandipaka.

“We have 23 still at Parirenyatwa and several others who were taken to different hospitals.”

The accident claimed 19 people on the spot when a Chivi-bound Chawasarira bus burst its right front tyre while overtaking another bus, resulting in a head-on collision with a haulage truck. The police have called upon motorists to exercise caution.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading