HomeNewsHwange board defers election of chairperson

Hwange board defers election of chairperson


The new Hwange Colliery Company (HCCL) board met briefly for the first time yesterday following the acrimonious board meeting that resulted in the axing of nine former board members.

The board was expected to elect a new chairperson to replace Tendai Savanhu, but this was deferred to today.

HCCL spokesperson Burzil Dube confirmed the development.

He said today’s board meeting would be held in Hwange where most of the business will also be held.

“The election of the new chairperson is now expected to take place on Thursday (today). The board members will also be taken on a familiarisation tour of the company by management,” said Dube.

The new board comprises Norman Chibhanguza, Jemmister Chininga, Ian Haruperi, Nkosilathi Jiyane, Siphiwe Mapfuwa, Johnson Mawere, Farai Mutamangira, Lucas Nkomo and Valentine Vera.
Hwange shareholders recently approved the axing of Fortune Chasi, Shingai Mutumbwa, Tendai Savanhu, Prisca Mupfumira and Thandiwe Mlobane.

Shareholders did not pass the re-election of Thabani Ndlovu, Alpheus Ngapo, James Nqindi and Rosemary Sibanda who were retiring and did not seek re-election.

HCCL shareholders are the government with 37,1%, Nicholas Van Hoogstraten through his vehicle Messina Investments with 14,8% and Mittal Steel Africa 9,76%.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading