HomeSportOther SportByo Under-16 girl’s basketball team named

Byo Under-16 girl’s basketball team named


The Bulawayo Metropolitan Province has named 18 girls that will represent the province in the Under-16 National Basketball Championships set for Mzingwane High School from July 29-31.

A National Association of School Heads Girls Under-16 tournament held at Milton High School on Saturday was used for the selection of the squad.

Brandina Muleya, Lenny Mukamba and Valerie Zulu from Ihlathi High School made it into the team.

Four players from Dominican Convent High School who include Blessing Samson, Bridgette Nkomo, Vimbai Hamandishe and Rumbidzai Kabasa were among those selected.

Also selected was the duo of Nomagugu Nxumalo and Faith Bhebhe from Nkulumane High School alongside Loreen Muyemwa and Bridgette Gumbo from Founders High School.

Janet Mutinhiri and Siduduzile Ncube from Northlea High School and Memory Phiri from Townsend High School joined by Michelle Berman and Andile Tshabalala from Petra High School are part of the team.

Shannez Siziba of Montrose High School and Rufaro Ndokanga from Masiyephambili complete the set of players selected into the team.

Dominican Convent started off their campaign dismissing Masotsha High School 54-7 before they humiliated Northlea 33-4. In the semi-finals, Convent beat Founders High School 27-16 to quality for the final where they eventually won 19-18.

Runners-up Ihlathi beat Pumula High School by a massive 66-10 in their first game while their second game ended with a 38-10 victory over Petra High School. Montrose High School also fell victim to Ihlathi as they lost by 51-25.

Ihlathi continued with their good exploits and qualified for the finals after they edged Nkulumane High School 51-36 in the semi-finals but were stopped by Convent in the final.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading