Raza ‘lost for words’ after receiving ICC Team of the Year caps

ZIMBABWE star allrounder Sikandar Raza

ZIMBABWE star allrounder Sikandar Raza has received his commemorative caps from the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) after being named in the world cricket governing body’s ODI and T20I Team of the Year 2022.

The 36-year-old aggressive middle order batsman and wicket-taking spinner capped off a memorable year by being named in the ICC ODI and T20I Team of the Year 2022.

An elated Raza, who is the first Zimbabwean player to receive the honour, expressed his delight to his fans on social media after receiving his commemorative caps in Dubai, UAE yesterday.

The Zimbabwean star is currently representing the Dubai Capitals in the on-going International League T20.

“These are the moments when one’s lost for words and that’s exactly how I feel. (I’m) incredibly honoured and humbled to have received my caps for (being named in the ICC) T20I and ODI team of the year.  Always alhamdulillah “praise be to God” for everything. Thank you all for your prayers. #visitimbabwe,” Raza wrote on his social media platforms yesterday.

Raza had a breakout year in 2022 as he reached heights, which have not been scaled by any Zimbabwean player in international cricket.

He first made history when he was named the ICC Men’s Player of the Month for August 2022 in recognition of his brilliant centuries against Bangladesh and India, becoming the first Zimbabwean to win the prestigious accolade.

Playing an entertaining brand of cricket, which brought thousands of fans to Harare Sports Club, Raza led from the front with unbeaten scores of 135 and 117 as Zimbabwe claimed an impressive ODI series victory against Bangladesh.

He followed this up with a fiery 115 as Zimbabwe came agonisingly close to staging an upset against India in the final ODI in Harare.

Raza carried over his brilliant form to the ICC T20 World Cup in Australia where he played a key role in the Chevrons’ qualification through to the Super 12 stage of the competition.

He was named in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Team of the Tournament after winning three Player of the Match awards during the tournament.

Related Topics