Supreme Court judges sworn in



SIX judges were this morning sworn in as Supreme Court justices by the deputy Chief Justice Elizabeth Gwaunza.

The six: Justices George Chiweshe, the former Judge President; Alphas Chitakunye; Samuel Kudya; Felistas Chatukuta; Joseph Musakwa and Hlekani Mwayera.

Justice ministry secretary Virginia Mabhiza said among other duties, the newly sworn in judges will play a pivotal role in assisting the justice system in the country to clear outstanding cases at the Supreme Court.

“This is a very important event in the judiciary calendar and this is a constitutional requirement. The newly appointed judges will help in clearing cases at the Supreme Court and make sure that cases are heard on time,” Mabhiza said.