THE Zimbabwe national cricket team’s poor performance at the International Cricket Council T-20 World Cup qualifier in Namibia has come at a cost for four players that have been axed ahead of the incoming home series against Ireland.

Seasoned pace bowler, Tendai Chatara, spinner Wellington Masakadza as well as openers Innocent Kaia and Nick Welch became the first casualties of the Chevrons foiled World Cup campaign, which is in itself a tip of the iceberg as a raft of changes are expected to sweep across the entire team, particularly the technical department.

The selectors named two uncapped players in batsman Brian Bennett and towering seamer Trevor Gwandu in the Zimbabwe 15-man squad for the three T20I against the visiting Irish which starts tomorrow at Harare Sports Club.

Sikandar Raza, who took over as T20 captain from Craig Ervine just before the disappointing tour of Namibia, is expected to lead his charges against Ireland while his predecessor also made it into the squad. All-rounders Sean Williams, Wessly Madhevere, Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, seamers Blessing Muzabarani and Richard Ngarava as well as opener Tadiwanashe Marumani and wicketkeeper batter Clive Madande, all remnants of the Namibian debacle have been drafted into the T20 squad to face Ireland.

There was also room for returning spinner Brandon Mavuta and batsman Tony Munyonga who have been called up after consistent performances in the domestic league. Meanwhile, it was business as usual at Harare Sports Club with the Chevrons head coach Dave Houghton superintending over practice with the help of his lieutenants.

Keep Reading

Zimbabwe T20I Squad for the series against Ireland:

Sikandar Raza (Captain), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Trevor Gwandu, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Brandon Mavuta, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sean Williams.