RENOWNED poet Albert Nyathi and Nkayi traditional leader Chief Dakamela were among the winners at the Matabeleland Cultural Awards (MCA) held on Saturday at the Youth Arena in Bulawayo.

Nyathi got the Lifetime award, Chief Dakamela received the Best Traditional Leader’s award while Yolanda Maria Dicecala clinched the Up-and-Coming Female Poet gong.

Mabhukudwana Primary School won the Outstanding Primary School award through traditional dance group while Intombi Yabelungu music group won the Outstanding Maskandi award.

My Beautiful Home group got the Outstanding Hut Decoration award, Binga Craft Centre was adjudged the Outstanding Weaver while Mjabulisi Dlamini received the Best Up-and-coming Male Poet gong.

MCA chief executive officer Philani Ncube said the awards event covered participants drawn from the whole of Matabeleland and they looked only at the first winners.

“We successfully held our cultural awards 2023 at the Youth Arena in Bulawayo even though the legendary Nyathi was unable to come to receive his lifetime award on the date of the awards ceremony,” Ncube told NewsDay Life & Style.

Keep Reading

“During the time we were organising the event we realised that people were full of fear. But what we were uncomfortable with was that we had police officers on our back before the event started. We are not happy about that. We need to be free.”

Meanwhile, organisers of the annual Roil Bulawayo Arts Awards (BAA) have released the nominees for this year’s seventh edition of the awards to be held at the Zimbabwe International Trade Fair (ZITF) Hall 3 on November 25.

Among the nominees are NewsDay reporter Mpumelelo Moyo under the Outstanding Journalist category.

Awards executive producer Saimon Mambazo Phiri said this year’s edition will adopt a biblical theme The Seven Completion, taking a slightly different shape from the previous editions.

“As the Bible says, “on the seventh day, he rested”, so as this is our seventh edition, we take it as the year of completion,” he told NewsDay Life & Style.

He said this year’s awards will be different as there will be no voting for individual awards, rather everyone is eligible for people’s choice award which will be voted for on the awards website.

“The voting will begin on November 12 and close on November 23, then we will announce the top 10 to compete for the People’s Choice Award. This award will be voted for by the ballot by the audience on the day of the awards at the venue,” he noted.

Some of the nominees for the awards include the late duo, Insimbi Zezhwane’s, Nitefreak and Black Umfolosi.

Nominees under the Outstanding Dance Ensemble category are Sekunjalo Ma Afrika, Ezimnyama Dance Ensemble, Simunye Simunye Arts and Iyasa.

Musawenkosi Sibanda (Simunye), Charmaine Mudau (Simunye), Bonakele Agnes Ncube (3 Sum) have been nominated under Outstanding Theatre Actress.

Outstanding Comedians are Mbongeni Ignatius, Dalu The Comedian, Umnikazi Wempuphu and Mahlalela Mahlalela.

Wheelspinners Nitefreak, Kead Wicked, Dj Sida and Nizhe De Soul were nominated under the Outstanding Club Dj category. The Outstanding Model category features Francisco Kampira, Stacey Hall, Jemimwa Mandemwa Amanda, Peresu Moyo and Liberty Malala.

Sithandazile Dube (Madlela Comes Home), Florence Sithole  (Ihlazo), Nonduduzo Ncube (Usendo/Maliwe) were nominated under the Outstanding Film/Tv Actress category.