Scott pledges rugby sponsorship

Mabvuku House of Assembly Member Scott Sakupwanya, right with the Junior Sables coach Sean De Souza at the weekend's Nedbank Rugby Challenge Cup finals at Harare Sports Club.

BUSINESSMAN Scott Sakupwanya has pledged to fund rugby after he was charmed by the just-ended Nedbank Rugby Challenge Cup. Harare Sports Club retained the cup after beating Old Hararians 16-13 in an edge-of-the-seat final.

Sakupwanya, the Member of Parliament for Mabvuku, who was part of the dignitaries during the trophy presentation at Harare Sports Club, expressed his excitement and commitment to play a significant role in sponsoring rugby particularly grassroots development.

“I really enjoyed top rugby action, Nedabank did a splendid job together with the rugby board to put up a highly successful tournament. We are inspired to come in with the little that we have and ensure that this sport continues to scale dizzy heights particularly within the youths that’s the U20 category,” Sakupwanya said on the sidelines of the presentation ceremony.

“There are bridges to cross and formalities to be made so without revealing much for the respect of those important processes let me just assure you that we will be back for something big and exciting for the betterment of rugby.”

The third edition of the Nedbank Challenge Cup featured teams that included the Zimbabwe A, Sables Academy, Pitbulls, Manicaland, Nedbank Junior Sables, Matabeleland and the Nedbank High Performance Centre in the round stages as well as the Women’s North and South teams.

Nedbank Rugby Challenge Cup is a grassroots player development tournament sponsored by financial institution Nedbank Zimbabwe that offer selectors and coaches a platform to watch and observe players at a single venue.

Meanwhile, the Nedbank U20 Junior Sables Squad for this year’s Barthes Trophy was announced at the weekend.

 The 37-man squad comprise 18 forwards and 19 backs.

Forwards: Samuel Edwards, Louange Mutimawurukundo, Emmanuel Gabi, Tadiwanashe Bwanya, Thabani Ndlovu, Joseph Benning, Innocent Dekete, Allan Mawunga, Tatenda Runyowa, Kudzai Tsvakirai, Huntsmann Greaves, Tafara Dewa, Giordan Sarpo, Polite Phiri, Tatenda Mpagore,  Rogers Tayengwa, Takudzwa Matsvimbo, Tadiwa Nyamukondiwa.

Backs: Kholuwani Moyo, Tinotenda Rusike, Emmanuel Magutakuona, Alex Kerm, Breandon Jameson, Shammah Jackson, Benoni Nhekairo, Tadiwanashe Unganai, Wayne Kunaka, Tadiwa Maradze, Kaitano Tembo, Tadiwa Madya, Cody Grant, Tanaka Muoamhadzi, Owen Musumhi, Vuyani Ncube, Elias Chitengwa, Edward Sigauke, Joshua Bekker.

Related Topics