Another ICC honour for Raza

File pic: Sikandar Raza

ZIMBABWE national cricket team all-rounder Sikandar Raza has been named into the International Cricket Council One Day International Team of The Year.

Having been also named in the ICC T20 Team of The Year on Monday, he becomes the only player to make it into both the ODI and T-20 Team of The Year.

He is also up for three individual awards after making into the shortlist of the T20 Cricketer of The Year, ODI Cricketer of The Year and the ICC Cricketer of The Year awards.

The ICC will start announcing the individual awards today.

Raza, who was also named in the ICC T20 World Cup Team of The Year, celebrated three ODI centuries, of which one was against India. The ICC Men’s Player of the Month for August peaked in 2022, attaining his highest-ranking position among all-rounder’s during the year.

Heading into ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup year, the Men’s ODI Team of the Year spans the last 12 months of competitive bilateral cricket, and no fewer than seven nations are represented in the line-up for 2022.

Pakistan’s Babar Azam has been named in the XI as captain for the second consecutive year, after scoring 679 runs at a phenomenal average of 84,87 to consolidate his position at the summit of the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings for batters.

Babar leads the side which includes top run scorer in ODIs, India’s Shreyas Iyer, who registered 724 runs in his 17 matches. Shai Hope also features after another impressive year for West Indies, sharing three centuries apiece with the skipper.

The bowling line-up boasts pace, spin expertise and plenty of wicket-taking ability. Four of the top five leading ODI wicket-takers of 2022 are named in the Men’s ODI Team of the Year — Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammed Siraj, Alzarri Joseph and Adam Zampa. Completing the bowling attack is the number one-ranked bowler in the format, New Zealand paceman Trent Boult.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year:

Babar Azam (c) (Pak), Travis Head (Aus), Shai Hope (WI), Shreyas Iyer (Ind), Tom Latham (wk) (NZ),  Sikandar Raza (Zim),  Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Ban), Alzarri Joseph (WI), Mohammed Siraj (Ind), Trent Boult (NZ), Adam Zampa (Aus).


Related Topics