Top Football Teams in the DRC


Motema Pembe is a very popular team in the Linafoot league, which is the most elite league in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The team was formed about 86 years ago in the year 1936 as Falcon Daring. Motema Pembe was formed by a missionary of the Congregation of Scheutistes called Rev. Father Raphaël de la Kethulle de Ryhove. The team was mostly made up of college students from Sainte-Anne in Kinshasa.
The team adopted the name Motema Pembe as we know it today in the year 1985. Motema Pembe is the third most successful club in the DRC in terms of Linafoot titles as it has a total of 12 titles. Motema Pembe is the most successful national club of the DRC at national level as it has 27 titles.

Motema Pembe uses the Stade Tata Raphaël stadium in Kinshasa as its homeground, this is a huge stadium with a carrying capacity of 80,000.
How many league titles does Motema Pembe have?
Motema Pembe has won a total of 12 Linafoot titles since their formation. They won their first title in the year 1963 and they last won it 14 years ago in the year 2008 and this is a long time indeed and they need to start winning again if they are to catch up with TP Mazembe and AS Vita Club.

Motema Pembe does not have a rich history on the African continent as they have only won the African Cup Winners’ Cup in the year 1994. The team has of course participated in the African Champions League and the African Confederations Cup on numerous occasions but they have failed to leave a mark.

Below is a list of silverware won by Motema Pembe
Linafoot: 12
1963, 1964, 1974, 1978, 1989, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2004, 2005, 2008
Congo Cup: 14
1964, 1974, 1978, 1984, 1985, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2021 (Record)
DR Congo Super Cup: 2
2003, 2005
African Cup Winners’ Cup: 1
Champion: 1994

Is it possible to bet on these teams and league? No, at the moment the betting sites in DR Congo, do not permit betting on the local teams. As soon as they do, players will rush in and will also start looking for the best DRC betting tips.

TP Mazembe, which is short for Tout Puissant Mazembe is a Congolese professional football club which is based in Lubumbashi. TP Mazembe was established 83 years ago as FC St. Georges in the year 1939 and it was founded by the Benedictine monks who directed the Institut Saint-Boniface school in Élisabethville which is now known as Lubumbashi, a few years later, as FC St. Georges was renamed Saint Paul F.C. The missionaries later abandoned the team and this led to a change in name and it was now called F.C. Englebert after its sponsor.
F.C. Englebert won its first first league title in the year 1966 and the term “Tout Puissant” (Almighty) was added to the club’s name because they had a strong campaign where they went for the whole season undefeated. F.C. Englebert had another historic campaign in the year 1966 as they won a treble which consisted of the National Championship, Coupe du Congo and Katanga Cup.

TP Mazembe uses the Stade TP Mazembe stadium as its homeground and this is an 18,500 capacity seater.

TP Mazembe is the most succesful team in DRC in terms of the number of league titles they have won in the history of the Linafoot League. To date TP Mazembe has a total of 18 league titles, their first title came in 1966 and the club has not looked back ever since. TP Mazembe has always been a symbol of success in DRC but their most successful period started from the 2006 season and the club has managed to win 11 titles from a possible 16, this proves just how dominant the team has been over the years.

TP Mazembe is one team which has managed to put DRC on the map in terms of African football because this team is a force to be reckoned with. For two concecutive years in 1967 and 1968, TP Mazembe won the African Champions Cup and this in itself was historic because TP Mazembe was the first team to successfully defend the African Champions Cup.
The team also won the CAF Champions League in 2009 after their beat Heartland on away goals rule after the teams had finished with a 2–2 aggregate score. TP Mazembe further won the CAF Champions league in the years 2010 and 2015, this shows just how TP Mazembe have established themselves as a force in African football.
TP Mazembe has won the CAF Confederation Cup two times consecutively in the years 2016 and 2017.
TP Mazembe is the first and only African side to contest the final of the FIFA Club World Cup after defeating both Pachuca of Mexico 1–0 in the quarter-finals and Internacional of Brazil 2–0 in the semi-finals. They were however defeated 3-0 by Inter Milan but that will go down as one of the major highlights of this great team from DRC.
Below is a list of silverware won by TP Mazembe
1966, 1967, 1969, 1976, 1987, 2000, 2001, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2013–14, 2015–16, 2016–17, 2018–19, 2019–20, 2020–21 (Record)
Congo Cup
1966, 1967, 1976, 1979, 2000
DR Congo Super Cup
2013, 2014, 2016 (Record)
1967, 1968, 2009, 2010, 2015
CAF Confederation Cup
2016, 2017
CAF Super Cup
2010, 2011, 2016
African Cup Winners’ Cup

AS Vita Club is one of the most successful soccer teams in the Democratic Republic of Congo as they have the second number of Linafoot titles with TP Mazembe being the only club above them in that regard. AS Vita Club which is short for Association Sportive Vita Club is based in Kinshasa.
AS Vita Club which was named Renaissance in rue Usoke n° 73 on its formation was founded in the year 1935 by Honoré Essabe. In the year 1939, the club changed its name to Diables Rouges. The team abandoned the name Diables Rouges after just three years in 1942 when they were renamed Victoria Club  before finally naming it Vita Club in 1971.
The team waited for for 35 years to win its first Linafoot title which came in the year 1970 and the 1970s were obviously the clubs most successful period because they managed to win a total of 6 titles in 8 years.

AS Vita Club uses the Stade des Martyrs, Kinshasa stadium as its homeground and this is an 80 000 capacity seater.

AS Vita Club club has won a total of 15 titles in the club’s history which makes them the second most succesful team in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Nowadays, the clubs Linafoot titles are not coming regularly like they did in the peroid between 1970 up to 1980 where the team won a total of 7 titles in 10 years.

If you follow African Club competitions, you must have heard about AS Vita Club because they are usually participating in the CAF Champions league or the CAF confederations Cup tournaments. AS Vita Club have made 14 appearances in the CAF Champions league from 1971 up to date and they have managed to win the title only once in the year 1971 during the time when they were unplayable.
AS Vita Club were finalists in the year 1980, but most of the times they usually make it to either the first round or second round of the CAF Champions league. It is quite clear that the club is yet to cement their place as a powerhouse of African soccer like the likes of Al Ahly but a lot of respect has to be given to the club because they are a competitive side,
The club has made four appearances from 2008 – 2018 and they were finalists in the year 2018.
Below is a list of silverware won by AS Vita Club
1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1980, 1988, 1993, 1997, 2003, 2010, 2014–15, 2017–18, 2021
Congo Cup
1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1983, 2001
DR Congo Super Cup
African Cup of Champions Clubs / CAF Champions League