DJ Zandimaz, Nutty O win big at Zima awards



SOUTH AFRICA-BASED Zimbabwean music producer-cum-wheel spinner Zandile “DJ Zandimaz” Mazithulela and dancehall singer Nutty O were the biggest winners at this year’s edition of the annual Premier Portland Cement (PPC) sponsored Zimbabwe Music Awards held on Saturday at the Country Club in Newlands, Harare.

DJ Zandimaz and Nutty O scooped three awards apiece while dancehall chanter Freeman bagged two gongs.

When the awards organisers released the list of nominees, Nutty O was leading with seven nominations, Freeman had five, while DJ Zandimaz was seated on four.

Nutty O’s efforts were recognised as the Best Male Artist of the Year, Best Album (Mustard Seed) and Song of the Year (Handipere Power).

DJ Zandimaz was honoured as Best Dance: (House, Gqom, Kwaitoo, EDM), Best Female Artiste of the Year and Best International Zimbabwean Artistes.

Freeman’s scooped the Best Zimdancehall and Best Video (Pombi) gongs.

According to the awards spokesperson over 1 700 submissions were received and the numbers were screened down to 909 for the material released between January 1 and December 31, 2021.

For some artistes, winning these awards mark the start of more positive achievements in their respective careers.

The awards ceremony was graced by celebrities and stakeholders in the creative industry.

Apart from the awards ceremony guests were treated to sterling performances by Kae Chaps, Solution, Fusion 5 Mangwiro and Enzo Ishal.

Below is the full list of the winners:

  • Best Duo/Group: Breeze music
  • Best New Comer: Shashil
  • Best Contemporary Gospel Musician: Everton Mlalazi
  • Best Traditional Gospel Musician: Dorcas Moyo
  • Best Tshibilika: Insimbi Zezhwane
  • Best Album: Nutty O (Mustard Seed)
  • Best Dance: (House, Gqom, kwaitoo, EDM): Dj Zandimazi
  • Best Chinyakare Artiste: Andy Muridzo
  • Best Zimdancehall: Freeman HKD
  • Best Sungura: DT Bio Mudimba
  • Best Hip Hop: R Peels
  • Best Afro-Pop: ExQ
  • Best Jazz: Agga Nyabinde
  • Best Alternative: Mbeu
  • Best RnB & Soul: Nyasha David
  • Videographer of the Year: San Pedro
  • Producer of the Year: DJ Tamuka
  • Best Video: Freeman (Pombi)
  • Best International Zimbabwean Artist’: DJ Zandimazi
  • Best Female Artiste of the Year: DJ Zandimazi
  • Best Male Artiste of the Year: Nutty O
  • Best Collaboration of the Year: Roki featuring Ray Vines and Koffi Olomide (Patati Patata)
  • Lifetime Achievement: Unhu Ubuntu
  • Song of the Year: Handipere Power — Nutty O
  • Follow us on Twitter @NewsDay Zimbabwe