Boost for Zim tourism

ZTA spokesperson Godfrey Koti


THE Zimbabwe Tourism Authority (ZTA) has hailed the removal of Zimbabwe from the Ireland red-list of designated States for mandatory quarantine, saying the move would boost local tourism which has suffered a knock since the outbreak of COVID-19 in March last year.

On Sunday, Ireland Health minister removed Zimbabwe and 22 other countries from the list of countries designated for mandatory hotel quarantine.

ZTA spokesperson Godfrey Koti said: “As ZTA, we are quite elated by the news of Ireland removing us from the red list. It gives confidence even to the tourists that are coming into destination Zimbabwe.

“They know that they are coming into a safer place and what it also does is, it increases the confidence of other countries and other travellers. They will soon be coming into Zimbabwe.”

He added: “Tourists and visitors need to know that they can be safe and that we are taking serious measures against COVID-19 pandemic.

“We would also like to applaud the government of Zimbabwe through the Health and Child Care ministry for their vaccination programme which has been a success to a very large extent particularly with Victoria Falls reaching herd immunity. This can only foster good intentions and perceptions out there that Zimbabwe is a country that is concerned for its citizens, its tourists and anyone else who wants to do business with it.”

Under the Ireland red list, people who do not have valid proof of vaccination or recovery arriving to the country from designated countries will be placed on mandatory hotel quarantine.

A negative PCR test is also required for people travelling from such countries.

For those with valid proof of vaccination, they also need to provide a negative test and also provide evidence of another negative PCR test from day five onwards in order to end their self-quarantine.

If they are required to enter mandatory hotel quarantine, they are able to leave if they have a negative test result from day ten onwards.

Other countries removed from the mandatory hotel quarantine list are Bangladesh, Botswana, Cuba, the Democratic Republic of Congo, eSwatini, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Pakistan, Paraguay, Russia, South Africa, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda and Uruguay.

Follow us on Twitter @NewsDayZimbabwe