HomeSportWomen cricket team to use SA series as warm-up for...

Women cricket team to use SA series as warm-up for W/C qualifiers



The Zimbabwe National Women’s Cricket team will use the home series South Africa’s  Emerging Women next week in Bulawayo, as preparations for the World Cup qualifiers, which are on this December.

The five matches will be played on May 18, 20, 22, 24 and 26, with all the fixtures starting at 0930 hours local time.

All matches will be played at Queens Sports Club, with no spectators allowed in the stadium due to COVID-19 protocols.

Zimbabwe coach Adam Chifo said game time against a strong South African side would help his team, which is starved of competition.

“South Africa is a very good team and if you look at the squad that will be coming here, they have three or so players who are part of the main team. They have been playing competitive cricket of late and a month ago they were in Bangladesh. So this tour gives us a chance to play a good side from which we will not be only able to assess ourselves, but also use as a chance to give ladies the much-needed game time at high performance level,” Chifo said.

“We have been in a camp for a week-and-a half now and so far so good except for a few niggles from some players. Our team physio is managing them well and we looking to have them match fit come game number

The World Cup finals, which had been scheduled for February 6 to March 7, 2021, are now scheduled to be held in New Zealand in March and April 2022.

The top three teams from that 10-team qualifying event in Sri Lanka will progress to the 50-over ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup.

Chifo added that he would be missing some of his key players for the upcoming match.

“We are quite depleted in terms of batting experience. We are missing four batters from our usual top five, but it’s a chance for the other ladies to showcase what they can offer to the team,” he said

Chifo noted that his squad would comprise the following players: Josephine Nkomo (captain), Chiedza Dhururu, Modester Mupachikwa, Christabel Chatonzwa, Pelagia Mujaji, Precious Marange, Lorren Phiri, Tasman Granger, Nomvelo Sibanda, Ester Mbofana, Audrey Mazvishaya, Francisca Chopard, Nyasha Gwanzura, Kellis Ndlovu, Rumbidzai Nhire, Mitchel Mavhunga and Chiedza Mzembe.

The team was last month awarded one day international (ODI) and Test status by the ICC.

  • Follow Magreth on Twitter @MagrethRuzvidzo

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading