Yadah pick vital point


YADAH . . . . . . (0) 1
ZPC KARIBA . . . .(1) 1

YADAH picked up a vital point against ZPC Kariba as they continued with the fight to stay afloat in the Castle Lager Premier Soccer League in a match played at Rufaro Stadium yesterday.


With the draw, they moved a point above the relegation zone and are now tied with Nichrut and Bulawayo Chiefs on 32 points.

The visitors were the first to score in the 30th minute through Francisco Zekumbawira. He made good use of David Temwanjira’s pass to turn and shoot past goalkeeper Steven Chimusoro.

Yadah managed to restore parity with 20 minutes left on the clock. They won a penalty after Johannes Sibanda was brought down in the box. Speedy winger Leeroy Mavhunga stood up to the responsibility and levelled matters after sending goalkeeper Takubva Mawaya the wrong way.

ZPC Kariba threatened to restore the lead after Godknows Mangani tested the Yadah goalkeeper with a free-kick on 78 minutes.

Yadah coach Thomas Ruzive was happy with the point they picked, but wants his team to improve in their last five matches.

“This was a very crucial point for us, as you can see that the competition is very tough and this point moves us further away from the relegation zone. We should apply hard work going forward, and we need to continue playing well, so that we don’t get relegated,” he said

On the other hand, ZPC Kariba coach Godfrey Tamirepi was not happy with his side’s performance, noting they could have scored more goals.

“We should have actually got three points in this game, considering we had a very good start and got an early goal which we needed at all costs, but we ended up conceding a penalty. I thought my defender was reckless since he wasn’t first on the ball. Basically, I was not happy with the result,” he said.


Yadah: S Chimusoro, B Madzokerere, A Makopa, W Chakanyuka, W Kalongonda, Z Biseki, B Mapfumo ( D Savhanu, 66′), L Murape ( M Meleka, 53′), L Mavhunga, J Sibanda, R Matema

ZPC Kariba: T Mawaya, T Ranthokoane, M Kanyaurimwe, S Appiah ( G Mangani, 46′), S Nekati, T Munyanduri, C Muleya, M Demera ( L Nyamandwe, 77′), S Gorogodyo, D Twemwanjira, F Zekumbawira ( P Tafirenyika, 77′)