U21 hockey team for World Cup qualifier named

THE Hockey Association of Zimbabwe yesterday named a strong national Under-21 Ladies hockey side to represent the country in the upcoming Junior Africa Cup to be held in Namibia.


The Junior Africa Cup, which also serves as the continental qualifier for the 2016 Junior Hockey World Cup, will be held in Windhoek from March 18 to 28.

Of the 18 players named, seven are based in South Africa and one in England.

South Africa-based former Chisipite Senior School student Stephanie Campbell, who will captain the side, will be hoping to emulate the class of 2005, which qualified for the Junior Hockey World Cup held in Santiago, Chile.


This year’s women’s Junior World Cup, which will be held from November 23 to December 4, makes a return to Santiago again, while the men’s Junior World Cup will be held in Delhi, India, from November 1-11.

According to the Africa Hockey Federation website, nine men’s and eight women’s teams will grace the quadrennial event to be staged at the Windhoek Hockey Stadium.

Defending champions South Africa, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Tanzania, Egypt and Namibia will feature in the men’s competition while only Egypt will not be represented in the women’s competition.

The top two teams in both categories will represent the continent in India and Chile respectively.

Squad: Lauren Dent (England), Androniki Hiripis (Chelsea Drifters), Stephanie Campbell (SA) (Captain), Michelle Kabaira (Lions), Simone Marchussen (Peterhouse), Cheryl Dzapasi (Chisipite), Aimee Nativel (SA), Kelly Diplock (Gateway), Jessica Dollar (SA), Stephanie Mauchaza (Scorpions), Erin Gray (Carguards), Tinyayeishe Elijah (Lions), Tyler Groenewald (SA), Megan Shaxson (Peterhouse), Amber Hinze (Peterhouse), Kaleigh Graham (SA), Tyler Silk (SA), Carla van Oudtshoorn (SA)

Non-travelling Reserves: Kendal Revolta (Chelsea Drifters), Hannah Snyder (Peterhouse), Nicole Taffs (Peterhouse)

Related Posts