HomeSportCricketBangladesh name squad for Zim ODIs

Bangladesh name squad for Zim ODIs


MIRPUR — Pace bowler Kamrul Islam Rabbi is the only uncapped cricket player in the 14-member Bangladesh squad for the first two ODIs against Zimbabwe on November 7 and 9, in Mirpur.



Mashrafe Mortaza will captain the side after recovering from the after effects of dengue fever last month. Shakib Al Hasan was also available for the full series against Zimbabwe, though his wife is expecting their first child this month.

Rabbi has been developing into a steady performer in domestic cricket for the last seven years.

Besides becoming the captain of the Barisal Division’s first-class team last season, he has also been a regular with the Bangladesh A team, and bowled well for Victoria Sporting Club in the List A Dhaka Premier League last season, taking 15 wickets at an average of 25.33 from 11 matches.

During the recent short tour of South Africa with the A team, both Al-Amin and Rabbi were the standout performers.

Al-Amin claimed figures of 5 for 45 against Northerns while Rabbi took four wickets against Gauteng.

There was, however, no place for Anamul Haque and Rubel Hossain, who were part of Bangladesh’s last ODI squad, against South Africa in July.

Anamul had not played a game during that series, but he was in the 18-man preliminary squad that was announced in late October, while Rubel has not recovered from his calf muscle injury suffered during Bangladesh A’s tour to India in September.

Zimbabwe’s national selectors on Friday recalled legspinner Graeme Cremer and wicketkeeper-batsman Regis Chakabva for the upcoming limited-overs matches against Bangladesh.

Chakabva was included in the team on the back of a strong performance for the A team against Ireland in Harare, where he scored a century in both innings. Cremer made the squad after recovering from an ankle injury. He last played for Zimbabwe earlier this month, during the home series against Pakistan, taking four wickets from four matches.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza(capt), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi

Zimbabwe squad: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Chamu Chibhabha, Tendai Chisoro, Graeme Cremer, Craig Ervine, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Wellington Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading