HomeNewsFilmmakers, actors to be honoured

Filmmakers, actors to be honoured


LOCAL filmmakers and actors will be honoured at this year’s edition of Zimbabwe International Film Festival (ZIFF) that roars into life from October 3 to October 10 in the capital, as a way of acknowledging their contribution to the growth of the sector.


A four-member group — made up of Rufaro Kaseke, Patience Gombe, Stuart Moyo and Munyaradzi Dodo — has partnered with the Zimbabwe International Film and Festival Trust to introduce the inaugural Zimbabwe Film and Television Awards to be held on October 9 at 7 Arts Theatre.

About 12 individuals will be honoured under the outstanding screenplay, outstanding editing, outstanding production design, outstanding cinematography, outstanding music and score, outstanding directing, outstanding costume design, best lead actor and best lead actress categories at the ceremony that will be held under the theme Documation.


The award’s media liaison officer Stuart Moyo said the awards have been set up to honour filmmakers who have made significant contributions to the growth of the local film and television industry.

“As people with a passion for film and television growth in the country we decided to come up with the awards to honour the pioneers of the Zimbabwean filmmaking industry in all capacities of production who gave direction to the industry,” Moyo said.

“The awards will be an honour to the people that work behind the scenes and are hardly recognised and appreciated for their work. The ceremony will award quality production and skill with the aim of setting a standard for Zimbabwean film and television productions.”

Moyo said there was no public call for the awards nominations saying the list was prepared through consultation with players in the film industry like ZIFF, MFD, Nyerai Films and individual filmmakers.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading