HomeBusinessTop awards for Meikles, Victoria Falls hotels

Top awards for Meikles, Victoria Falls hotels


Meikles Hotel has been awarded a certificate of excellence by a United States based travel website underlying its status as one of the best hotels.


The award was made by TripAdvisor, one of the world’s foremost travel websites providing reviews of travel-related facilities, activities and content.

The hotel has been advised of the honour by Marc Charron, president of TripAdvisor for Business, who sent the certification to Meikles’ general manager, Tinashe Munjoma as part of the website’s 2015 awards programme.

“We are delighted to have received this important honour, and I have to say that it serves as a timely reminder to our management and staff to not only maintain standards achieved so far, but to go the extra mile in search of ever-increasing levels of guest satisfaction in every aspect of our business,” Munjoma said.

The online TripAdvisor was established in February 2000 and it has almost four million followers, who check out fellow followers’ review of content when selecting destinations for every type of travel-related activity. The Certificate of Excellence award was introduced in 2010 and is presented to organisations that have received an exceptional number of positive reviews on a consistent basis.

Meikles Hotel is owned by Zimbabwe Stock Exchange-listed Meikles Limited.

Meanwhile, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been named one of the top five resort hotels in Africa and the Middle East by a leading travel publication, Travel and Leisure magazine.

The hotel is jointly owned by Meikles Limited and African Sun.

In the magazine’s 2015 World’s Best Awards competition, the hotel was listed as one of the top five lodges and resorts, listed along with two South African properties, one from Tanzania and one from Botswana.

Giulio Togni, general manager of The Victoria Falls Hotel said the company was “delighted with this listing’ coming from a respected travel publication.

“We are advised that the listing results from judging by readers in 2014/2015 and that this achievement comes from consistent and independent voting. It is an accolade with which we are not only delighted but of which we are also incredibly proud,” Togni said.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading