Ullyett wins Telkom SuperSport Shootout title


FORMER Zimbabwe tennis ace Kevin Ullyett was the biggest winner at this year’s edition of the Telkom SuperSport Golf Shootout after winning both the overall individual title and the betterball competition with partner James du Preez at Zimbali Coastal Resort on Sunday.


Ullyett, who won 34 ATP doubles titles along with three grand slams during his illustrious career, shot a three-under-par round giving him the best individual score, and betterball score of 10-under with playing partner Du Preez from South Africa.

The two-handicap golfer beat a strong field which included other celebrity sports personalities such as former South African cricketers Shaun Pollock and Lance Klusener, ex-rugby player Chester Williams and former Bafana Bafana captain Niel Tovey, among others.

The Telkom SuperSport Shootout, which was broadcast live on SuperSport from Friday to Sunday, is a charity driven celebrity golf tournament and has been held annually in South Africa for the past decade.

The event comprises an invitational field of top government officials, high profile corporate executives and legendary South African sportsmen competing alongside one another.

A total of R2,7 million was raised for the needy during this year’s tournament with the funds set to be channeled towards charity.

Team Telkom narrowly took honours in the team competition by two points (109 vs 107) over Team Supersport.

Meanwhile, reigning Zimbabwe Golf Association Order of Merit champion Stuart Krog won the championship division of the 2015 Windhoek Lager Africa Jacket Golf Championship with a score of 223 over three rounds at the Windhoek Golf and Country Club in Namibia on Saturday.

Namibia’s Paul Ndeilenge came second, four shots behind, while Abas Adam Sumbi of Tanzania came third on 228.

Zimbabwe also won the team event with the trio of Krog, Jerry Mudzikisi and Clement Chimuti coming first with a total of 759 points, while the Namibian team of Paul Ndeilenge, Andre Burger and Charles Hoseb came second on 767.

The Swaziland team of Sifiso Vilane, Bafana Hlophe and Lwati Dvuba came third on 283.

A total of nine southern African countries took part in the tournament, up from five nations that competed in the inaugural event in 2014.

The other nations were Botswana, who came fourth on 799, Tanzania (801), Kenya (839), South Africa (844), Uganda (852) and Seychelles (911).

Andre Burger of Namibia won the B Division with a total of 250, followed by Jerry Mudzikizi of Zimbabwe (253) and Bafana Hlophe of Swaziland (2610, while another Zimbabwean, Clement Chimuti, won the C Division on 283, followed by Lwati Dvuba of Swaziland (283) and Charles Hoeseb of Namibia (290).