HomeSportPrice to receive prestigious US golf award

Price to receive prestigious US golf award


ZIMBABWE golf legend and World Golf Hall of Fame inductee Nick Price will receive one of golf’s most prestigious honours, the Gold Tee Award, from the Metropolitan Golf Writers’ Association (MGWA) at the 64th National Awards Dinner in New York on June 9.


Widely regarded as one of the nicest people in the game, Price joins select company as the he list of past Gold Tee recipients includes legends of the game such as Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Nancy Lopez, Tom Watson, Annika Sorenstam, Phil Mickelson, and last year’s honoree Fred Couples.

The Gold Tee is the MGWA’s highest honor, awarded to an individual whose career achievements exemplify the best spirit and traditions of the sport of golf.

Price won three major championships during his illustrious career, the 1992 and 1994 PGA Championships, and the 1994 Open Championship (British Open).

In August 1994, Price was ranked number one in the world, a position he held for 43 consecutive weeks, a stretch that has only been bettered by Tiger Woods.

Born in South Africa, raised in Zimbabwe, Price won 18 PGA Tour events as well as 24 international victories.

In both 1993 (four wins) and 1994 (six), he was the PGA TOUR Player of the Year, the PGA of America Player of the Year, and the PGA Tour’s leading money winner. Price, 58, was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2003.

This October in South Korea, Price will once again captain the International team in the Presidents Cup.
“As great a player as Nick Price has been, he’s even a better person,” said MGWA president Bruce Beck in a statement yesterday.
“We’re very excited to honor Nick with the Gold Tee.”
Since 1952, the MGWA has recognized the game’s greatest players, contributors, and organizations at its National Awards Dinner, the longest running and often the largest golf dinner in the US each year.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading