THE Castle Lager Premier Soccer League Footballer of the Year would be unveiled in the capital tonight with the ZPC Kariba duo of defender Dennis Dauda and goalkeeper Tendai Hove among the huge favourites to land the top gong.


Dynamos’ Stephen Alimenda also did pretty well in a season no particular player was exceptional, and is also heavily tipped to take home the prestigious award.
The Footballer of the Year, his two deputies and the best 11 players from the last season were chosen last month by football writers, the Premier Soccer League (PSL) coaches and their captains.

While the 11 best players were revealed soon after the selection process, but the top-three were kept a secret and would be revealed and crowned at a banquet tonight.

In a season where no player really was incomparable, it was the three who played better.

Dauda and Hove had by their standard a memorable campaign, dragging ZPC Kariba to the finishing line where they were cruelly elbowed by Dynamos on the final day of the season.

If one of them clinches the award, it would be a huge consolation for the ZPC Kariba family who are still trying to recover from the heartbreak of losing the championship.

Alimenda had arguably one of his best seasons in the PSL and there would be very few qualms in the event that the man nicknamed Magafa Magafa snatches it.
Although he did not feature in the decisive last match of the season through injury, but there is no doubt he is one of the main reasons why Dynamos clinched the title last season.

Highlanders forward Charles Sibanda — already guaranteed the Golden Boot Award after finishing as the joint top goal scorer with How Mine’s Kuda Musharu on 12 goals — is a dark horse for the Award and so is Tendai Samanja of Caps United.

The winner of the Castle Lager Footballer of the Year will walk away with $6 000 up from last year’s $5 000, which was won by Dynamos’ Tawanda Muparati.

Other awards up for grabs is the Coach of the Year from which ZPC Kariba head coach Saul Chaminuka and Dynamos coach Kalisto Pasuwa are the favourites to win.
Chaminuka led the club, on their debut season, to a second finish on the table, one point behind eventual winners Dynamos.

As for Pasuwa, his achievements with Dynamos this season and the three previous seasons are glaring. A record four consecutive league titles!

Hove is also a favourite for the Goalkeeper of the Year but has got competition in FC Platinum’s Petros Mhari.

Dynamos’ young Blessing Moyo is odds on favourite to take the Rookie of the Year, but the FC Platinum duo of Wisdom Mutasa and Walter Musona also did well and can pull a surprise.

The Most Disciplined Team, Referee of the Year will also be announced.

The 11 finalists:

Stephen Alimenda, Themba Ndlovu, Limited Chikafa, Dennis Dauda, Tendai Hove, Thabani Kamusoko, David Kutyauripo, Kuda Musharu, Evans Rusike, Tendai Samanja, Charles Sibanda

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading