HomeSportSoccerSoccer Star selection on next week

Soccer Star selection on next week


THE Castle Lager Premier Soccer League (PSL) has set November 22 as the selection date for this year’s top 11 players in the league, with a new voting format set to be introduced.


PSL chief executive officer Kennedy Ndebele said in a statement yesterday that selection would be done under a new PSL voting system, a secret computerised electronic ballot.

“The electronic voting system will be supervised by a panel of experts who include media editors, football stakeholders, as well as Delta Beverages internal and external audit firms.

“The selection panel will consist of 16 Castle Lager PSL current coaches, 16 Castle Lager PSL current club captains and 32 media practitioners.

“Panelists have been involved in the selection of the Castle Lager PSL player and coach of the month awards from the beginning of the 2014 season,” Ndebele said.

The winner of the 2014 Castle Lager Soccer Star of the Year shall receive a trophy and $5 000 prize money.

Ndebele said any player who accumulated six yellow cards or more during the course of the season up to selection time would not be eligible for the awards.

“Any player who is shown and accumulated two or more red cards during the course of the season up to selection time time will not be eligible for the awards and will be disqualified. Any player who is summoned and found guilty by the PSL Disciplinary Commitee or courts of law during the season will be disqualified,” the statement reads.

Also the most outstanding referee will be selected by the referees committee.

The Soccer Star of the Year runners up will get $3 000 and $2 000 respectively with the rest of the finalists taking home $1 000 each.

All the prizes have remained the same as last year.

Last year’s awards and prize monies

Castle Soccer Star of the Year: Tawanda Muparati (Dynamos) — $5 000
First Runner-up: Silas Songani (Harare City) — $3 000
Second Runner-up: Kudakwashe Mahachi (Chicken Inn) — $2 000
Coach of the Year: Bigboy Mawiwi (Harare City) — $2 000
Goalkeeper of the Year: Herbert Rusawo (Black Rhinos) — $2 000
Golden Boot: Tendai Ndoro (Chicken Inn) — $3 000
Most Promising Player: Ronald Pfumbidzai (Caps United) — $2 000
Referee of the Year: Nomore Musundire — $2 000
First Runner-up: Tiwone Kacheche — $1 500
Second Runner-up: Thomas Kusosa — $1 000
Most Disciplined Team: Harare City — $10 000
Last season’s 11 finalists: George Chigova, Tawanda Muparati, Gift Bello (all Dynamos), Silas Songani (Harare City), Charles Sibanda (FC Platinum), Eric Chipeta (Hwange), Kuda Mahachi, Tendai Ndoro (both Chicken Inn), Menard Mupera (How Mine), Hardlife Zvirekwi (Caps United), Munyaradzi Diya (Highlanders)

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading


  1. ZPC Kariba is to me the Team of the Year and their coach Saul Chaminuka is the best coach of the year. Well done ZPC Kariba for competing for the League title in your maiden season in the Premier League. ENOUGHR RESPECT

Comments are closed.