Namibia name CAR Sevens squad


PREPARATIONS for the 2014 Confederation of African Rugby (CAR) Sevens Africa Cup are starting to gather momentum with Namibia yesterday announcing their 12-man squad for the continental championships to be held in the capital at the end of the month.


Twelve African countries namely South Africa (SARU Academy), Kenya (Shujaa), Uganda, Tunisia, Nigeria, Madagascar, Namibia, Botswana, Senegal, Zambia, Ivory Coast, South Africa and hosts Zimbabwe will feature in the tournament set for November 29 to 30 at Harare Sports Club.

Although not a dominant force in Sevens rugby as compared to the XVs format, Namibia yesterday showed their intent of the tournament after including four members of the senior team currently on tour in France.

The quartet of Russell van Wyk, David Philander, Johan Tromp and Darryl de la Harpe are in the 12 man squad for the tournament.
In total there are five players in the team who have played international rugby for Namibia after the inclusion of scrumhalf Arthur Bouwer.

The Namibian Sevens team will be coached by Vince Dreyer.

Zimbabwe, who will be gunning for the coveted title, are expected to announce their squad after the conclusion of the domestic Summer Sevens Series this weekend.

Winning the tournament or finishing the highest ranked non-core team on the IRB World Sevens Series will see Zimbabwe qualifying for the core-team qualifier at the Hong Kong World Sevens next year.

Regional powerhouses South Africa and Kenya, who are both expected to field second string sides are the only core teams from Africa on the IRB World Sevens Series Zimbabwe are bidding to become the third African country to attain the lucrative core status.

Namibia Squad: Handrè Bezuidenhout, Morten van Kradenburg, Darryl De La Harpe, Aurelio Plato, Justin Nel, Lean Stoop, David Philander, Johan Tromp, Christo van der Merwe, Arthur Bouwer, Tuna Amonteya, Russell van Wyk.

Coach : Vince Dreyer