HomeNewsTrevor Hall challenges dancehall artistes

Trevor Hall challenges dancehall artistes


JAMAICAN-BORN artiste Ras Jabu, born Trevor Hall, has urged local dancehall artistes to be more creative and desist from promoting violence if their music is to be recognised internationally.


Ras Jabu was speaking to NewsDay on the sidelines of the inaugural Zimdancehall Awards held at the Zimbabwe College of Music on Wednesday evening.

“Local dancehall chanters must be creative and positive in composing their songs. They must stay away from dissing each other which is dangerous since lyrics are influential,” Ras Jabu said.

The ceremony was also graced by music promoters like Partson Chimbodza of Chipaz Promotions and Robert Zhuwao, among others.

Winky D walked away the biggest winner at the event bagging four awards out of five nominations.

He took Best Male Artiste of the Year, Best Social Message for the song Mafirakureva, Best Live Performance and Best Video and Choreography for the video Vashakabvu.

His manager Jonathan Banda also took home the Music Manager of the Year Award.

The last segment of the ceremony was, however, marred by ugly scenes when an unidentified rowdy fan threw a missile at Winky D when he was declared the Best Male Artiste.

The scene attracted the attention of many people in the building as they chanted Killer T’s name in protest. Winky D’s brother Layan Soldier and Banda charged at the fan demanding he be ejected from the auditorium.

Some of the award winners include: Best Female Artiste 2013 Lady Squanda, Best Collaboration: SoulJah Love and Cello Culture, Minana; Best Vocalist: Seh Calaz; Song of the Year: Shinsoman Mawaya Waya, Best Social Message: Positive from Jay Cee; Best Riddim: Zimbo Flavour; Best Producer: Sunshine, Best Upcoming Artiste: Killer T and SoulJah Love; Best Album: Freeman’s New Chapter; Best Artiste from outside of Harare: Crystal; Best Dancehall Dance Group: Ghetto Creepers; Best Reggae Artiste: Mic Inity; and Most Promising Artiste: Terminator.

United Kingdom-based Major E, Potato, Gary B, Templeman, Legendary Music, Judgment Yard, Zhuwao, Devine Assignments, Punchline Entertainment, Red Rose Entertainment and Chipaz Promotions received honorary awards.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading