Chavhanga included in Sharks Super Rugby Squad


DURBAN — Tonderai Chavhanga has been included in Sharks’ 39-man squad for the 2014 Super Rugby season which kicks off this weekend.

SA Rugby/ Sports Reporter

The Zimbabwe-born speed merchant who has been practising with the Sharks during the pre-season could make his official comeback in the Sharks’ opening game against the Bulls on Saturday.

Chavhanga scored a record individual six tries when he made his Springbok debut against Uruguay in East London before heading abroad and joining Newport Gwent Dragons.

He played 28 matches for the Welsh regional side, before returning to Bloemfontein last year.

As a result of an injury he did not play for the Cheetahs in this year’s Currie Cup, but is hopeful that at the age of 29 he could still impress his former coach Jake White enough and play consistently for the Sharks this season.

The squad also features the young talents of Tyler Fisher and Andre Esterhuizen, who both had promising performances in the 23-15 loss to the Saracens in a warm-up friendly.

Sharks 2014 Super Rugby squad —
Lourens Adriaanse, Willem Alberts, Jacques Botes, Anton Bresler, Dale Chadwick, Marcell Coetzee, Kyle Cooper, Tonderai Chavhanga, Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Bismarck du Plessis (c), Jannie du Plessis, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Thomas du Toit, Andre Esterhuizen, Tyler Fisher, Hansie Graaf, Monde Hadebe, Paul Jordaan, Ryan Kankowski, Patrick Lambie, Stephan Lewies, Peet Marais, SP Marais, Charl McLeod, Tendai Mtawarira, Tera Mtembu, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Etienne Oosthuizen, JP Pietersen, Cobus Reinach, S’bura Sithole, Francois Steyn, Tim Swiel, Stefan Ungerer, Jaco van Tonder, Heimar Williams, Fred Zeilinga.