Kasinauyo backs Warriors


FORMER Warriors player Edzai Kasinauyo has tipped the country’s national football team to reach the final of the African Nations Championships (Chan) tournament which kicks off in South Africa on Saturday.


Zimbabwe, who will be making their third appearance at the tournament, has never gone beyond the group stages, and they are in a relatively tough Group B, with Morocco, Burkina Faso and Uganda.
Zimbabwe will start their campaign against Morocco on Sunday and the Ian Gorowa-coached side will then engage Uganda four days later before facing Burkina Faso in their last match on January 20.

In an interview with NewsDay Sport yesterday, Kasinauyo, who has seen it all on international front, believes that the Warriors’ technical department has worked very hard and they deserve to reach the final.

“I think from the way they have been doing, they will reach the final. I believe the technical department has worked hard to assemble what I believe is the best local squad.

“They will be able to reach the final, but winning the tournament will be a bonus to the team,” he said.

“I know it is going to be a tough tournament for all the teams, but I mean these guys have worked hard and they deserve something at least,” he added.

Meanwhile, Morocco head coach Hassan Benabicha has announced his 23-man squad set to travel to South Africa to participate in the Caf African Nations Championships set to kick-off on Saturday 11 January.

The Atlas Lions are expected to arrive at their base camp in Cape Town on Monday afternoon where they will begin preparation for their opening match against Zimbabwe on Sunday evening.

Benabicha has included eight players from the Raja Casablanca squad which lost to Bayern Munich in the final of the Fifa Club World Cup in mid-December, while there are several experience campaigners in the team.

1-Lamyaghri Nadir, 2-El Youssfi Mohamed, 3-El Askri Khalid – Rca
4-Sasaa Adil, 5-El Hachimi Zakaria, 6-Abarhoun Mohamed, 7-Saidi Mohamed, 8-Oulhaj Mohamed, 9-Chagou Ahmed, 10-Karouchi Adil
11-Asbahi Anas, 12-Erraki Issam, 13-Fettah Said, 14-Chakir Abderrahim, 15-Moutouali Mohcine, 16-Karti Walid, 17-El Mbarki Abdessamad, 18-Krouch Zeyd, 19-Rafik Abdessamad
20-El Bahri Brahim, 21-El Ouady Abdelkebir, 22-Iajour Mohcine, 23-Hadraf Zakaria