PREMIER Soccer League clubs have been hit hard by fines accumulated last season after wanton disregard of the standing rules and regulations of the game with champions Dynamos and runners-up Highlanders the hardest hit.


Most of their offences were committed by fans.

From the $70 000 prize money for winning the league title, Dynamos will part with $64 000 for various offences, chief among them, pitch invasions and throwing of missiles during matches by fans.

The league champions were fined a total of $11 000 for using an undesignated entry and missile throwing during their 4-2 loss to Hwange at the Colliery while former assistant coach Tichaona Diya was fined $1 000 for abusive language towards match officials during the same game.

Dynamos also picked up four $8 000 fines for their fans, misbehaviour in matches against Highlanders (twice), Monomotapa and How Mine. For pitch invasion against Black Mambas in the last game of the season and in the clash with Caps United, they were docked $16 000.

On two occasions against Shabanie Mine and Highlanders, Dynamos failed to provide team sheets on time and accrued a $2 000 fine.

For Highlanders, failure to control their fans in matches against Dynamos (twice), Shabanie Mine (twice) and delaying kick-off, the Bulawayo giants racked up fines of $26 550.

Caps United, the third biggest franchise in the league, failed to account for gate-takings on three occasions, in the matches against Motor Action, Buffaloes and Shabanie Mine and were fined $6 000.

The Green Machine was also fined $16 000 for missiles-throwing in the matches against Dynamos and Highlanders.

Five coaches were found in the wrong — Highlanders’ Kelvin Kaindu, Gishon Ntini of Triangle, David George and Johnson Mhungu of Motor Action and former Dynamos assistant coach Tichaona Diya.

Winners of the league take home $70 000, runners-up $50 000 while Harare City, who were third, are entitled to $30 000.

The fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and 10th-placed teams get $26 000, $24 000, $20 000, $18 000, $15 000, $14 000 and $12 000 respectively. Teams number 11 and 12 will take home $10 000 and $7 000 each with the bottom four getting $5 000 each.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading