HomeSportOther SportDelta Beverages fork out $50 000 for awards

Delta Beverages fork out $50 000 for awards


DELTA Beverages will sponsor the 2013 Annual National Sports Awards (Ansa) ceremony to the tune of over $50 000.


The announcement was made by Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) director-general Charles Nhemachena when he unveiled finalists for this year’s event which will take place on December 11.

Zimbabwe senior soccer team coach Ian Gorowa is in the frame to win the Coach of the Year Award after he was nominated as one of the top three finalists for the 2013 Ansa.

Rowing coach Rachel Jane Davis has also been nominated for the top award so has triathlon coach Wayne Davidson.

Gorowa, who took over from German coach Klaus Dieter Pagels guided the Warriors to the African Nations Championship (Chan) to be hosted in South Africa in January.

He defeated Mauritius 4-1 on aggregate in the first round of the Chan after having beaten them 3-0 in their own backyard before the Warriors were held to a 1-1 draw in Harare.

The Warriors then beat Zambia 1-0 with FC Platinum forward Charles Sibanda scoring the priceless goal to help Zimbabwe seal a ticket to the biennial soccer showcase in which only home-based players take part.

Rising Zimbabwean boxer Charles Manyuchi is also in the running for the Sportsman of the Year following his sterling performances which saw him winning the AUB title in Ivory Coast before successfully defending it in Zambia recently.

Tennis ace Cara Black remains in contention for the Sportswoman of the Year accolade after she was also nominated.

Other nominees :

Junior Sports Woman of the Year:

Laurelle Brown (Triathlon)
Nicholas Dzenga (Tennis)
Ruvarashe Muzinde(Athletics)

Junior Sportsman of the Year:

Faber Murray Lauchian (Rowing)
Michael Songore (Athletics)
Peter Purcell Gilpin (Rowing)

Junior Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability:

Jennifer Zabamwe (Athletics)
Patience Majoni (Athletics)
Sithole Liana (Athletics)

Junior Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Brian Mafuvise (wheelchair tennis)
Emmanuel Musara (Athletics)
Shepherd Banda (Wheelchair tennis)

Sportswoman of the Year

Cara Black (Tennis)
Micheen Thornycroft (Rowing)
Rachel Goromonzi (Hockey)

Sportsman of the Year:

Charles Manyuchi (Boxing)
Garanganga Takanyi (Tennis)
Samson Muripo (Karate)

Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Daniel Nyuke (Wheelchair Basketball)
Edmund Makutya (Wheelchair racing)
Elford Moyo (Wheelchair racing)

Team of the Year:

National Team Under 19 (Beach Volleyball)
Zimbabwe Cricket (Cricket)
Zimbabwe Warriors (Soccer)

Coach of the Year:

Ian Gorowa (Zimbabwe senior soccer team)

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading