AMH is an independent media house free from political ties or outside influence. We have four newspapers: The Zimbabwe Independent, a business weekly published every Friday, The Standard, a weekly published every Sunday, and Southern and NewsDay, our daily newspapers. Each has an online edition.

  • Marketing
  • Digital Marketing Manager: tmutambara@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Tel: (04) 771722/3
  • Online Advertising
  • Digital@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Web Development
  • jmanyenyere@alphamedia.co.zw

Ndoro bounces back

CHICKEN Inn striker Tendai Ndoro heads a list of players who have been added to the Warriors squad to face Mauritius in the return leg of the African Nations Championship (Chan) at Rufaro Stadium this Sunday.

CHICKEN Inn striker Tendai Ndoro heads a list of players who have been added to the Warriors squad to face Mauritius in the return leg of the African Nations Championship (Chan) at Rufaro Stadium this Sunday.


The country’s leading marksman in the league with 11 goals and scorer of a double against Lesotho in the Cosafa Championships, did not travel to the Indian Ocean Island as he was on trials in South Africa.

Stand-in team manager Patrick Mutesva yesterday confirmed that Ndoro is back in the country and will be part of the squad that commences training this morning ahead of the match.

Also added into the squad is Highlanders midfielder Peter “Rio” Moyo, while Triangle left-back Blessing Chimwamuchere has been handed his first national team call-up.

Caps United striker Dominic Chungwa, who was dropped at the last minute from the travelling crew to Mauritius due to complications with travelling documents, has also been included.

The player who replaced him on that trip, Last Chibwiro of Black Mambas, has been dropped and so is Buffaloes defender Prosper Matizanadzo.

Mutesva said Ocean Mushure and Ronald Chitiyo, who were dropped from the team that went to Beau Bassin due to injuries, have been given more time to recover.

The Warriors, who carry what looks like a healthy 3-0 first leg lead, arrived back into the country on Tuesday night before given a day off yesterday to participate in the national general elections.

Coach Ian Gorowa, who remained behind in South Africa, was expected in the country this morning in time for his team’s morning training session at the National Sports Stadium (NSS). The team will move to the match venue for the afternoon session.

Nelson Mazivisa got a brace and Simba Sithole scored his maiden goal for the Warriors in Mauritius to give Gorowa a perfect start as senior national team coach.

Zifa have announced the gate charges for the match, with the cheapest ticket pegged at $3, while the “Upper grand stand” ticket has been put at $10.

The VIP ticket is $20.

The match will mark the return of the Warriors to Rufaro Stadium, a venue seen by many as the team’s favourite hunting ground.

Zifa has in recent times preferred the giant NSS over the Mbare stadium and forced the Warriors to play their World Cup qualifiers at the spacious venue, where they have always struggled.

The Warriors briefly returned to Rufaro for a friendly match against Botswana in February this year, but were back at the NSS for the World Cup qualifier against Egypt in June.

Zifa chief executive officer Jonathan Mashingaidze said the Warriors’ last World Cup qualifier against Mozambique will be played at Rufaro.

Zimbabwe is likely to face Zambia in the Chan final qualifier with Chipolopolo poised to advance to the next round after getting a 1-1 draw in Botswana in the first round first leg.

The two nations are meeting in Lusaka this weekend in the reserve fixture and if Chipolopolo advance, they will set-up a possible meeting with the Warriors, a team they beat 2-0 in the Cosafa Cup final last month.

Meanwhile, Mauritius was expected into the country last night aboard a South African Airways flight.

Warriors Squad: Goalkeepers: Munyaradzi Diya Tafadzwa Dube Defenders: Hardlife Zvirekwi, Patson Jaure, Augustine Mbara, Felix Chindungwe, Eric Chipeta, Blessing Chimwamuchere Midfielders: Tawanda Muparati, Masimba Mambare, Devon Chafa, Charles Sibanda, Silas Songani, A Sadiki, Peter Moyo Strikers: Simba Sithole, Dominic Chungwa, Milton Ncube, Nelson Maziwisa, Tendai Ndoro.