HomeSportCricketZC names 27-man squad for India visit

ZC names 27-man squad for India visit


ZIMBABWE Cricket (ZC) selectors have picked a 27-man squad that will go into camp on May 27 to prepare for India’s visit for a scheduled five-match one-day-international series in Harare.

Report by Kevin Mapasure

The series was originally set for just three matches, but the respective boards agreed to add two more matches.

Speculation has been rife that India are considering rescheduling the tour, but ZC media manager Lovemore Banda yesterday said no discussions had taken place over rescheduling.
“As far as we are concerned, India are coming in July and they have not communicated otherwise,” said Banda.

Almost everybody who was expected to make it into the squad was included save for explosive batsmen Charles Coventry and Craig Ervine, who are playing overseas.
Chairman of selectors Givemore Makoni yesterday said that they had picked a bloated side so that they give everybody a chance to prove their worth in the national team.

“We have started to build for the World Cup next year, so we have called in everybody who deserves a chance so that they can come and stake their claim for a place in the national team,” said Makoni.

“Players will have to raise their hands with good performances. Just like we did against Bangladesh, we will maintain a big squad during the series and whoever fails will be dropped and we will look elsewhere.

“Everyone will have to work hard and only the captain, Brendan Taylor, is guaranteed a place in the team”

Batsman Stuart Matsikenyeri, who asked to be excused from the recent Bangladesh series, makes a return to the side.

Batsman Tino Mawoyo, bowlers Chris Mpofu and Edward Rainsford, who all missed the last series owing to injuries, have all been included.

Coach Andy Waller has hit the ground running after designing a fitness programme for all players during the break.

Last week Waller told our sister paper, the Zimbabwe Independent, that he would be focusing mainly on improving the fitness of the players ahead of the India tour.
Having watched the team during the limited-overs series, Waller registered concern with technical aspects of the pace bowling department.

Squad: Brendan Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Raza Butt, Elton Chigumbura, Shingi Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Tendai Chatara, Regis Chakabva, Tymicen Maruma, Mike Chinouya, Tino Mutombodzi, Natsai Mushangwe, Prosper Utseya, Rich Mutumbami, Keegan Meth, Chris Mpofu, Edward Rainsford, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Graeme Cremer, Raymond Price, Tino Mawoyo and Chamu Chibhabha.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading