HomeSportCricketZC awaits India response

ZC awaits India response


ZIMBABWE Cricket (ZC) is still awaiting a response from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) after sending them a draft memorandum of understanding which they hope will pave way for the confirmation of the schedule for the Indian cricket team’s tour in July.

Report by Daniel Nhakaniso

Lovemore Banda, ZC’s media and communications manager, said the tour would depend on their Indian counterparts’ response to the draft memorandum of understanding.
“We sent a draft memorandum of understanding to the Board of Control for Cricket in India which included our proposed dates for the tour. We are still awaiting their response, but we are confident that the tour, which includes five ODIs (One-day internationals), will go ahead as planned. The national team has since regrouped and started their preparations yesterday (Monday),” said Banda.

The Indian tour has been the subject of intense speculation with recent reports indicating that the World Cup champions were ready to pull the plug on the tour, but ZC have remained confident that it will go ahead.

According to the International Cricket Council (ICC’s) Future Tours Programme, the two nations will contest in a three-match ODI series, but Zimbabwe are hoping to add a further two ODIs to make it a five-match series.

While the proposed schedule for the tour is dependent on the signing of the memorandum of understanding, sources told NewsDay Sport that ZC had provisionally set the tour for July 17-28.

The first three ODIs have been set for the capital on July 17, 20 and 23, while the last two matches have been slated for Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo on July 26 and 28.

A 27-member Zimbabwe squad went into camp on Monday to start serious preparations for the upcoming tour under new coach Andy Waller.

Brendan Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Raza Butt, Elton Chigumbura, Shingi Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Tendai Chatara, Regis Chakabva, Tymicen Maruma, Mike Chinouya, Tino Mutombodzi, Natsai Mushangwe, Prosper Utseya, Richmond Mutumbami, Keegan Meth, Chris Mpofu, Edward Rainsford, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Graeme Cremer, Raymond Price, Tino Mawoyo and Chamu Chibhabha.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading