HomeSportCricketMumbai cruise to IPL glory

Mumbai cruise to IPL glory


KOLKATA — Kieron Pollard struck a50 as the Mumbai Indians claimed their first Indian Premier League title thanks to a 23-run hammering of the Chennai Super Kings in the final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.


Pollards blasted his way to 60 not out off a mere 32 balls as Mumbai posted 148 for nine after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Lasith Malinga (2-22), Mitchell Johnson (2-19) and Harbhajan Singh (2-13) then all played their part as Chennai were held to a disappointing 125 for nine despite Mahendra Singh Dhoni ending on 63 not out off 45 deliveries.

Pollard was the star attraction for Mumbai with the bat as smashed seven fours and three sixes during his innings.

Pollard was in typically belligerent mood and he struck the first ball that he faced for four and he ended the innings in fine style by striking two consecutive sixes off the bowling of Dwayne Bravo, the first of which saw Pollard bring up his third 50 of this year’s IPL.

Bravo ended as the tournament’s leading wicket-taker thanks to his 4-42 while Albie Morkel finished with the impressive figures of 3-0-12-2 after Mumbai lost their first wicket in the first over of the match when seamer Mohit Sharma trapped Dwayne Smith (4) leg-before.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading